Posted by: Diane | June 3, 2013

It’s All Good

Everyday life sure does have a different, natural rhythm than holidays, doesn’t it? I honestly think I actually breathe differently when I’m on vacation. My whole system slows down, there’s no need for a watch or a phone, there’s no schedule to keep and no demands on my time. Chris and I really wanted to prioritize our relationship while we were away so we didn’t spend a lot of time with other people. We laughed and played together, read and rested.  On the way home from the airport, we had the following schmalzy conversation:

Diane: So, how would you rate this vacation, out of 10?

(silence for a few seconds)

Chris: I’d say about an 8 or a 9.

(silence for a few seconds)

Diane: Hm…so what would have had to happen to make it a 10 experience?

(silence for a few seconds)

Chris: (with a big smile on his face) Spending every waking moment with you.

You see, guys? That’s how you do it.  There’s the answer that all us women want to hear! So cheeesy but hey, it sure felt great and Chris was quite pleased that he came up with the perfect answer so quickly!  Mission accomplished for a wonderful holiday together!

Reality hit hard when we arrived back in Toronto, only to be hit with a VERY expensive parking bill at the airport. Both Chris and I felt very sombre as we headed towards home, knowing that in less than twelve hours, life was going to rev up and get busy again.  You know that feeling?

I wouldn’t want life to be a holiday – that’s not what life’s about (I recently read a quote: The purpose of life is a life of purpose” by Robert Byrne) – but it does take a bit of time to gear up after two weeks of no pressure/all pleasure living. Perhaps that’s why I felt compelled to buy this sweatshirt in Whistler a couple of days ago – perhaps I was mentally, emotionally and spiritually arming myself for the oncoming impact of reality.

Life's a mountain

When my brothers and I were young, I used to hear my mother say, “Stop the world – I want to get off.” As a young child, I didn’t understand the stress and pain that led her to  say these words but I get it now. Life is hard… and sometimes, we all need a break. Chris and I intentionally invested in two weeks of removing ourselves from the everyday push and pull of life, knowing that strengthening our marriage was a priority but also knowing that there was an onerous, challenging, clamourous life waiting for us back at home… because life is hard.

…and yet, it’s so good to be home. Now we choose joy.

it's all good


Responses

  1. Choosing joy is a great choice! So is being away with your man for 2 weeks solid! Envious but soooo happy for you guys! Lets book some time soon. Miss you. S xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

