Posted by: Diane | May 2, 2013

Sunset Blanket Update

I thought you might like to see how my sunset blanket is coming along. I’ve been crocheting one row for each evening’s sunset, since January 1st of this year.

blanket - April. 2013

The January sunsets are crocheted at the bottom of this picture, I just finished April sunsets, which are at the top of the picture and the months are divided by a thick black row.  You can see that the sunsets are becoming increasingly more colorful as spring unfolds. I never realized how many grey days we have in February – the end of January and most of February show a lot of dull colored skies.  (Now I understand why so many people experience depression during February – a friend of mine calls it February Funk.)

Quite the blanket, isn’t it?  It’s getting really heavy – it feels like I’m lying under one of those protective lead vests that the dental hygienist places over my body, prior to taking x-rays –  and I’ve got eight more months of sunsets to crochet! This is going to be one B-I-G blanket!

It’s been interesting to hear people’s opinions of this blanket – it certainly sparks conversation.  There are some who think it’s the ugliest thing they’ve ever seen, (“there’s no pattern. It’s so messy”) there are others who think it’s fantastic (This is way cool – I’ve never seen anything like it”) and then there are others who…well…they don’t think at all – they just appreciate the creation. (“Can you PLEASE make me one?”)

I’m not sure what to think of this blanket but I know that I’m loving the process of creating it. I’m making time to watch each sunset and I enjoy digging into my buckets of wool to find just the right color and texture of wool.

As far as the imperfections in the blanket? Well, that’s my signature.


Responses

  1. I love it! It’s beautiful and meaningful. ….. Just like the seasons in our lives..not just the periods o f our lives but the,ups and downs of each week, month and day. Your blanket is a diary of Diane’s daily delights! :))

  2. If you are in love with the process, you are right where you need to be…. As for the imperfections….. I like you more and more each day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

