Posted by: Diane | April 26, 2013

Holiness – A Possibility And A Responsibility

I don’t remember ever reading this Bible verse before but I recently found it on a blog that I regularly follow. Check it out – it’s a blog that truly encourages.

http://www.dailyencouragement.net/

word of god shatters a rock

The Word of God is powerful…it’s like fire…it’s like a hammer which shatters a rock…and it changes people from the inside out.

It has changed me – I truly don’t know where I would be if I had not learned to feed on and delight in the Word of God. Yet, a situation came up this week when my chosen behavior humbled and reminded me that I am still very much in process. I had to ask myself, “Do I take sin and holiness seriously?”

No Christian who treats the Word of God with casual indifference or approaches it only sporadically and haphazardly will progress much in holiness.

It’s difficult to have a sharp focus on holiness when I have a fuzzy focus on sin.

Andrew Murray once said, “To the soul that ceases from self, and has no confidence in the flesh, He will show and give the holiness He calls us to.”

I am called to holiness – it is a possibility and a responsibility – and  I believe there is no power on earth to be compared with the power of a holy life. Yet, there are many times that I lose sight of the truth that God blesses Christlikeness; not ability.

Definitely something to ponder this weekend….something to take seriously.

You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At your right hand are pleasures forevermore.  Psalm 16.11 NKJV


Leave a Reply

Categories

