Posted by: Diane | April 25, 2013

These Little Toes Of Mine

I’m hobbling around with sore toes these days.

I tripped over the wheels of my suitcase six days ago but I’m still out of commission.

broken toes

Such a small part of the body but boy, fractures of the proximal phalanx bones have certainly slowed me down to a snail’s pace this week. Nothing like a broken part of the body, no matter how small, to remind you of its importance. I’ve been starkly reminded that these little toes of mine do a lot of work when they’re healthy!  When I try to compensate for the injured toes, I put more pressure on other parts of my body and these days, I feel really misaligned – all because of my little toes.  The air cast is a very temporary “fix” that enables me to stand and put weight on the ball of my left foot so that I can move short distances but you know what actually helps the most?

Buddy wrapping – bandaging damaged (particularly a fractured) toes together with healthy ones.

What a great picture for life.

Yes, I can hobble around in an air cast or compensate by putting more weight on other parts of my body but wrapping my injured toes together with healthy ones for a time is the most supportive, the least painful and the most effective way to heal.

Sounds like community, doesn’t it?

But in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.  If they were all one part, where would the body be?  As it is, there are many parts, but one body. The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it.   1 Corinthians 12. 18-21, 26 NIV

 


Responses

  1. Thanks Diane. I needed to read that today.
    I think it’s a common happening today, that Satan puts lies into our heads that if we have enough faith, and my walk with The Lord is what it should be, then we should stand alone, walk with our head high, and pretend that all is well. Probably a little religious pride too.
    Pray that those little bones heal quickly. Why didn’t I think to tell you about the ” binding together”? You are on the right track! Another week and you’ll be feeling so much better!
    Love
    Barb

  2. Yes, after the broken ankle two years ago, I have more empathy for others who hurt small parts of their bodies…when one part is hurt, the whole body hurts and is in crisis…a wonderful analogy for members of the church, Christ’s body. You always it the nail on the head…oops not really. Don’t do that. Yikes!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

