Posted by: Diane | April 24, 2013

Compassion in Crisis

Last night, Chris and I sat quietly in the front room for about fifteen minutes, watching the news.

It was bad news after bad news after bad news.

Eventually, Chris turned off the TV, we looked at each other and I said something like, “Well, it’s great to go to sleep on such a positive note, isn’t it?” 

These days, bad news dominates our newspaper front pages, prime time cable news hours and our daily talk radio schedule. It can be very depressing to hear the barrage of information that reminds us of our humanness. Without perspective and hope, this world can be a very dismal place to live. I just googled “recent world news” and this is what came up.

Two men accused of an al-Qaeda-directed plot to derail a Via passenger train in Toronto

A technology designed to make it easier to pay with your credit card may be putting Canadians at risk of fraud and identity theft, say security experts

Toronto police have arrested the second suspect in the violent shooting at a TD bank over the weekend that left two people with gunshot wounds

Rare $26,000 bottle of scotch stolen from Toronto shop

Boston bombing has lawmakers questioning tracking of suspect

China earthquake toll rises to 180

‘One in a 100 year type flood’; Ontario communities hit by flooding hope worst now over

All I can say is that it’s a good thing this world is not my home.  Jesus told it like it was, is and always will be and He was, is and always will be Peace in this unsettled world.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart!  I have overcome the world.” (John 16.33 NIV)

Jesus is our Peace, Hope and ultimate Revenge but but there are always wise and kind people making good choices and loving others well, amidst the tragedies in this world. I came across this quote from Mr. Rogers (an American educator, Presbyterian minister, songwriter, author, and television host) and it reminded me to take the extra time and look a little deeper.

Mr. Rogers quote

I like that – look for the helpers.

In every crisis, there are helpers – people who love and listen well, hold hands and lift the spirits of the disheartened.  They are not the ultimate answer but they are part of the relief.

This is compassion…and this is comforting.

Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.               Galatians 6.1 ESV

 

 


Responses

  1. Yes, I’m thankful for all who encourage me in times of crisis, sorrow, and at times despair. I thank God for good friends or helpers!

  2. Hmm .im looking at the sidebar. I wonder who the 12,000th visitor to your blog will be. Goal or desire….can you,track it? I’m a numbers person!

    • Hm…very interesting. I never noticed those numbers! Thanks for letting me know!

  3. Thank you Diane for again hitting the nail on the head. My thoughts this morning were on the same wave length, and I decided to make a definite choice to not allow my mind to focus on the depravity all around me, but to keep my attention on the victory Christ won for me at Calvary. Then your blog points us in the same direction. Christ won my day!

    I often quote John 16:33 lately, because that is a given , so why should we be so shocked??? Thankfully in Romans, we read ” where sin abounds, (God’s) grace does much more abound.” How blessed are we to have God’s Word as our guide and support in these disturbing , frightful days. ” For this I have Jesus!” We will not be controlled by fear! According to the last chapter of this timeless treasured book, we win!!!
    Great Diane! Keep writing!

  4. Ps…hope you don’t mind but I felt your blog needs to be read by more…so I posted it on Face Book, but didn’t give out your personal information. Just your blog writings. Sorry, I should have asked first!😒Forgive me, Love Barb

    • No problem, Barb! Thanks so much for sharing my blog! Diane

  5. I too have been appalled and saddened by the recent horrific news events. Disasters all over the world, with earthquakes, floods, bombs, robberies, etc. I am thinking the end times are near. How long is the Lord going to allow His world to become another Sodom and Gomorrah. ‘Mrs. B’.


Leave a Reply

Categories