Posted by: Diane | April 19, 2013

It’s Gonna’ Be A Challenge

Yup!  Broken toes!

It’s 9:00 pm.

Chris and I made it to the conference, checked out the venue and now, we are relaxing in our hotel room.  Apparently, there’s nothing that doctors can do for broken toes but “buddy bandage” them but I was faced with the unique challenge of figuring out how to present a speech up on stage tomorrow afternoon – otherwise, I would have grabbed a couple of good books and laid flat on my back for the weekend.  I came up with a plan to borrow an air cast from a friend because I can’t put any weight onto my left foot. The cast seems to cushion my foot enough and I can limp around fairly effectively, as long as nothing is touching my toes.

Hopefully, I will have a decent sleep tonight because my seven other International Speech contestants and I have a 7:00 am. briefing session tomorrow morning!

It’s going to be a long day and I will have to get my foot up every moment possible.

Quite the challenge…but I’m up for it!

This is the way that life goes…still rejoicing with very sore toes!


Responses

  1. Broken Toes or not… You are going to do awesome. I’m so proud of you Diane – I wish I could have been there to cheer you on in person but I will be their in prayer and thoughts. I know you are going to do soooo welll… I’m really excited that you made it so far in the competition but I’m not surprised.

    You go girl… I’m really really proud of you!

  2. Oh Diane, praying. You poor thing! May you be able to focus on your speech, and not be held back because of pain.
    God is able !
    Love
    Barb

  3. Broken toes are very painful (been there)….you make plans, then life happens!
    I like your resourcefulness… can’t put a good woman down!!
    All the best tomorrow, you’ll do just great, (and may even get extra points because of your condition):)
    Can’t wait for your next column!

  4. We plan…..and God laughs! Thankfully you will not be speaking through your toe. Congratulations on reaching this level of competition….I will be praying for you Diane and God will enable you to deliver. xoxo ‘Mrs. B.’


Leave a Reply

Categories

