Posted by: Diane | April 17, 2013

Looking For A Handyman?

I heard Chris laugh in the back room this morning.  This is the quote he had just read.

Ladies, if a man says that he will fix it, he will. There’s no need to remind him every six months about it.    Anonymous

I had to snicker too because I know women who would totally relate to this quote.

However, this is not the reality in our household. No, Sir-ree –  I am married to a very talented man who really enjoys puttering around and fixing stuff.  If he’s got time, space and no interruptions, Chris is in his glory.  Add some good music to the scene, make it a Saturday and well…things couldn’t get much better for him.

Take our new BBQ, for instance. Thanks to a whole whack of accumulated credit card points, Chris and I are now the proud owners of a spankin’ new Napoleon BBQ.  A very big box was delivered to our house a couple of days ago and you could just see the excitement in Chris’ eyes. I recognized the glazed eyes and the big, goofy smile from the many times before, when he has taken on construction projects. When I first met Chris, he built a deck onto the back of my townhouse and a really cool fence in the front yard. He periodically quoted Red Green – “If the women don’t find ya’ handsome, they better find ya’ handy.” (see video below) Chris was handsome AND handy – I knew I was in love.

When Chris unpacked the BBQ parts all over our living room, the sight brought terror to my soul – I wouldn’t even know where to begin, even though there was a million-page instruction manual included.

But Handyman Chris?  –  no problem. It was his time to conquer.

BBQ 1

What’s even better is that Chris not only likes to fix stuff but he does so with a standard of excellence.  He doesn’t cut corners, he takes his time and he thoroughly enjoys the challenge of figuring out how things fit together.

Here is a picture of a happy man and his new toy.  Now, all we have to figure out is how to get this BBQ out on the deck – it’s too big for the sliding door!

BBQ 2

I am so thankful that this life offers us limitless opportunities to excel at whatever we do. It doesn’t matter what it is – whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. (1 Corinthians 10.31 NIV) – when we choose to work hard and remain steadfast, we honor God with the results. Nothing of great value happens quickly.

Getting back to BBQs, Chris and I got a good laugh, watching this Red Green video – constructing a BBQ out of a bathtub.  Watch it to the end and enjoy his famous quote!

http://youtu.be/W5Zo3d5MaU0

 


Responses

  1. Makes me smile…Chris loves a challenge!

  2. You make me smile, again and again! The honeymoon lives on! Enjoy!!
    (Just noticed Kath’s comment. Great minds think alike!! Haha)

  3. I love this.. He changed clothes, long day??? Xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

