Posted by: Diane | April 10, 2013

Bra-Shopping Drama

Warning, men..

This is a “bra-g” post, not a blog post.  We’re talking about bras today.

The modus operandi that we women have to go through to find the perfect bra is both traumatic and exhilarating. I have talked with enough women to know that making time to intentionally drive to and enter a lingerie store, be fitted properly and then proceed to try on umpteen different sizes, shapes and styles…well, it’s down right exhausting.

My family and friends would definitely not characterize me as a procrastinator but honestly, I have put off bra-shopping for years. Oh, I have picked up one here and there, when it’s on sale but I’ve never taken the time to go through the process of “finding the perfect fitting bra.”  I had no idea that this type of accomplishment could change my life!  🙂

Last week was my time.

My husband and I were at the mall – we had brought two cars because we were heading different directions after a quick visit to one of our favourite stores.  Once we got what we came for, we walked aimlessly around the mall for a few minutes. (us country folk enjoy the odd mall crawl) Eventually, Chris looked at me and said, “It’s time, Diane.  You have no excuses.  You don’t have to rush off anywhere.  Let’s go bra-shopping.”

Well, I quickly made it explicitly clear that under no condition, were WE going bra-shopping.  Bless his “pea-pickin’ heart” – I love Chris dearly –  but there was no way in the world that I would put him through that kind of agony  ( I don’t know – do men REALLY want to go through this kind of ordeal??) or put myself through that kind of humiliation.  No…this was definitely something that I had to tackle myself. Pardon the pun but it wasn’t his “support” that I was looking for. (If you know what I mean.)

But Chris was right – I had no excuses this time. How ironic it was that we just happened to be having this lovely conversation infront of a store that prides itself on “expert bra fitting.” No excuses, no escape.  The time had come.

Chris headed for Canadian Tire, I took a deep breath, adjusted my ill-fitting bra and bravely entered the “bra cave.” I was greeted by a woman who patiently listened to my plight, introduced me to an expert and the adventure began.

Two hours and 25 bras later…VICTORY! I found the perfect fitting bra.  I can’t begin to express the sense of accomplishment and satisfaction that I felt as I walked out of that store with three new bras (when you find that perfect one, you gotta’ go with it)  but I know you women know exactly what I’m talking about! There’s nothing like it – you stand taller and you just feel better about your day.

PLEASE let me know your experience – I KNOW that I’m not the only woman who feels this way!  RIGHT???


Responses

  1. LOLOL Love your story. Sure, I ll share my experience with bra shopping. I hate taking off my sweatshirt, t-shirt and lastly my old ragged bra and I am bare naked in front of the mirror in a public change room. I quickly try on many bras. Due to my large chest, they always overflow so I get bigger cup size due to different companies. I truly can’t wear underwire as it feels like something is grasping them! I always end up buying huge grandmother bras that fit me perfectly and has very wide strap to support better. I wish I could buy pretty and colourful bras but all of them has underwire so I have boring white, black and beige bras. Last fall, I found nice blue bras that fit me. Yay!

    • My heart goes out to you, Suzanne…but do enjoy those pretty blue bras!

  2. Ditto! i had to go with Katie last year before her wedding(at her insistence about how horrible and “saggy” i looked) i bought 3, and hope i never wear them out~ miserable! JOY to you~

    • Well, I was given quite the lecture on “how to take care of your bras” while I was at the store. Honestly, I think it could be a full time job!

  3. Well, if I could ever get out of the teen department …………

  4. Well, I went through the same experience while on vacation in Florida. It was a special day for free bra fitting. A very slim (skinny) salesperson/bra fitter brought me into the change room after my name had been called after a half hour wait. Apparently it’s a popular day when the bra fitting happens. Also you buy one get one free. Well, I was measured, waited for three bras from which to choose, and then asked to take my bra off right there with the chestless salesperson in the change room. Because I’ve had three children and have lost all modesty, I did. After trying on a dozen bras, I found two , one black and one beige (ecru!) and was told I would now be comfortable. Well the “girls” are perkier but my shoulders are still being dug into, despite the wider and padded shoulder area straps…. I feel like a Viking woman warrior! I need a solution.!!!

  5. I have taken my measurements and don’t fit into any category offered in the Sears catalougue and have made one short attempt at a fitting but the sales rep I had was clueless. I need to get brave and do the deed and bare it all for a proper fit. Soon….soon…sigh…

    • Trust me, Brenda…it’s not as terrible an experience as you think…go for it!

  6. I didn’t move out of a training bra until my twenties, and then just barely. I had one bra I referred to as my ‘work’ bra – worn for work only. When I finally reached the point of needing full-time bras in my mis-forties (better late than never) I upped my bra size every few months and began to get worried about when it would stop. The gift of womanhood finally stopped growing at 36C, which seemed like Dolly-Partonish compared to a scanty 32A. I now remind my husband of 30 years (35 years of togetherness) , “See, I told you they would grow and you didn’t believe me.” I just didn’t tell him how long it was going to take!


Leave a Reply

Categories

