Posted by: Diane | April 9, 2013

Talking To Myself

I am a strong proponent of talking to myself…

…and I know that I’ve been doing it for a long time. I think it started when I was a little girl and was playing “school” with my cousin, down in my grandparents’ basement. I was very aware that Mary and I were the same age but I was also very committed to being the teacher, rather than the student.  I would confidently drape my head with a big, brown towel (that was the visual sign of who was the teacher because we both agreed that teachers always had long hair) but this ritual did not begin until I told myself that I “could be just as good a teacher as Mrs. Hawrish, my real teacher,” that I “knew alot” and that “it’s more fun being the teacher because you get to use a real stapler. “

Way back when, I was telling myself empowering truth – real teachers do indeed get to use a real stapler. 🙂

Hopefully, the content of my self talk has become wiser but I do know that all through my competitive gymnastics moments,  the tough young mom days and the painfully disappointing seasons of life, I became increasingly aware that truth has most often been discovered outside of my natural feelings and perceptions.

I think that self-talk includes all those purposeful and random thoughts that run through my mind.  It’s about positively affecting myself by talking to myself. Martyn Lloyd Jones once said, “Most of your unhappiness in life is due to the fact that you are listening to yourself instead of talking to yourself.”  I don’t believe the ultimate goal in life is to be happy but I do know that living abundantly is the result of understanding and constantly claiming my position and victory in Christ – not succumbing to the endless lies that this world tells me about the importance of outward beauty, getting ahead, accumulating stuff and what makes for a meaningful life.

Living strongly in the Lord is about redirecting my mind.

Look at David in the Bible – things weren’t going so well for him and “he was greatly distressed, for the people spoke of stoning him, because off the people were bitter in soul, each for his sons and daughters. But David strengthened himself in the Lord his God.”  (1 Samuel 30.6 ESV)

I’m thinking that David gave himself a little talk. There was a moment when he chose to fill his mind with that which was good and right and hopeful – that’s how he strengthened himself in the Lord his God.

I haven’t put a towel on my head for a very long time but I will continue to drape my mind with truth all the days of my life.

For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he:  Proverbs 23.7 KJV


Responses

  1. I TOTALLY do this all the time. Works in positive & negative ways for sure. I don’t know any other way to really work my stuff out. I have full blown conversations even assumptive & presumptive convos too. Sometimes fantastical and can lead to harm and other times these conversations actually prevent me from saying things I may have wished I never said.

    I really like your point about “listening” to yourself instead of always “talking” to yourself. When enough good & right stuff has been place in there ( scripture/truth/grace/love) it does pay to “listen”.

    Thank you for articulating your mind.

  2. Love the imagery!
    Love the towel idea!
    Teaching self talk to grade six students this week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

