Posted by: Diane | April 3, 2013

Keep On Keeping On

I received another rejection letter yesterday. It’s the fourth time in two years that one of my manuscripts has been rejected. I suppose I find some comfort in the fact that almost all writers have received these dreaded letters from publishers or agents. It just goes with the territory.

I remember the first time I received a “your book does not fit our current publishing plan”  form letter  – I was devastated…it felt like my world had caved in.  It took a couple of days and a lot of tears before I was able to pull up my boot straps and carry on. Yes, sirree…that first rejection letter definitely hit the hardest.

Actually, now that I think about it, I didn’t respond too well to the second rejection letter either! 🙂

It’s getting easier these days – I don’t take it so personally any more. I realized that I needed to develop a thicker skin if I was going to survive this long and arduous writing journey. Publishing houses have become extremely selective as they review proposed projects and well…I’m just a baby when it comes to writing a book. I’m only two years into this writing pilgrimage and I anticipate more falls before I’m walking tall as a published author.  The good news is that there are levels of rejections and I seem to be progressing up these levels on the ladder to getting published. I greatly appreciate the personal comments and encouragement given by publishing coordinators and editors.

I’m taking it all in and I’m definitely not giving up. I have so much to learn and the rejection letters are helping me find my way.  I recently read a quote from Newt Gingrich – “Perseverance is the hard work you do after you get tired of doing the hard work you already did.

I will keep writing.

I will keep working.

I’m right where I belong.

Opportunity


Responses

  1. That’s hard, Diane, no matter what way you look at it. The quality that I admire in you, and have done since I first met you, is your determination to persevere, after each fall, you get up and walk taller. Yes, keep on, keeping on!

    Our retired pastor friend from Florida has a saying that has stayed with me. “The main thing is to keep the main thing, the main thing.”
    Today we say, ” Keep your focus!”
    Diane, you are doing all that and more.

    Love
    Barb

    • Thanks so much, Barb. I have no idea where all this is going…but I’m going!


Leave a Reply

Categories

