Posted by: Diane | March 27, 2013

Easter Hope

In May, Chris and I are going on our first official holiday. We booked this cruise and road trip about a year ago and to be honest, anticipating this expedition together has been as enjoyable as we believe the actual two week adventure will be.

I love the wait – I enjoy what’s coming.  L.M. Montgomery expresses this phenomena so well in her book, Anne of Avonlea…

When I think something nice is going to happen I seem to fly right up on the wings of anticipation; and then the first thing I realize I drop down to earth with a thud. But really, Marilla, the flying part is glorious as long as it lasts…it’s like soaring through a sunset. I think it almost pays for the thud.

…but there will be no thud – the beauty of Alaska and the joy of a long awaited road trip with my husband will not be disappointing.

I like the way that Dictionary.com defines the word, “anticipation” – realization in advance. There is such joy in thinking about, reflecting on, counting day until and preparing for life to come. It doesn’t take away from living in the present – it peppers the heaviness of life with hope and expectation.

A.A. Milne also paints a beautiful picture of anticipation.

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.”      

My favourite time of the year is coming and I’m preparing my heart and mind for celebration. When our children were young, I was distracted by filling Easter baskets and hiding chocolate eggs throughout the house but this year, I am making a real effort in slowing down during this Holy Week and taking time to ponder the painful death and glorious resurrection of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  I am really appreciating the insightful thoughts shared by various contributing writers at A Slice of Infinity, a daily blog from the Ravi Zacharias International Ministries and I am anticipating a marvelous sunrise service on Sunday morning at our church…

…but once again, there will be no thud – just preeminent praise.

Easter praise

                                            

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

