Posted by: Diane | March 25, 2013

Math And Me, Forever Be

As a young child,  math was a real problem.  Actually, it still is – I consider myself as a fairly adaptable, creative, risk-taking, broad-reaching tutor but I won’t touch math with a ten-foot pole. I respect the mathematical mind and to be honest, I wish I could think more analytically and logically but the reality is that I don’t like math and math doesn’t like me.

When I was a little girl, I just couldn’t get around the logistics of solving two step problems or telling time on an actual clock with hands.  My mother was an outstanding home instruction teacher and yet, I distinctly remember her looks of utter disbelief when I couldn’t grasp the simplest of concepts. I regularly took her to the end of her patience and her frustration was very evident as she tried every trick of the trade, hoping for my “Aha” moment that never happened. The two of us spent many hours at the kitchen table as mom told creative stories about her multi-colored “tens and ones‘ sticks, making the greatest attempts to visually demonstrate what it meant to carry a number. Those afternoon “pas de deuxs” always ended in my mom’s exasperation and my tears.  It just wasn’t to be….

…and that’s when vicious cycle began.  I wasn’t good at math so I didn’t like it and because I didn’t like it, I didn’t work at it, so I wasn’t good at it. To add fuel to the fire, I also had a speech impediment in those early years and thankfully (at least, I was thankful about this convenient timing) my speech lessons were always scheduled during my math classes. Three mornings/week, right after recess, I would march down to the speech room and blow ping pong balls across the table for thirty minutes, trying to master my “w” sound. The good news is that I can make a “weally” good “W”sound now.  🙂 The bad news is that I missed more math classes than I attended and consequently, this pretty much set the stage for my future failures in math – right up to high school, where I spent two years in the “special” math class, learning how to complete income tax forms. To this day, I STILL don’t understand income tax forms – thank goodness for husbands and tax consultants.

The point is this – as Robert Louis Stevenson once wrote, “Everybody, soon or late, sits down to a banquet of consequences.” I have felt the ramifications of my math ineptness throughout my entire life.  There are consequences to never having grasped basic mathematical principles ( although I do know how to tell time, now that I’m all grown up) and these consequences continue to plague me at times.

When we make poor choices in life, we can be sure that the consequences will catch up with us. Whether it be avoiding math, being dishonest, cutting corners, treating people poorly, being lazy or not dealing with what’s really going on inside us, you can be sure that at some point, you will sit down to a banquet of consequences.

Choices-and-Consequences

Do not be deceived: God can not be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.  Galatians 6.7 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

