Posted by: Diane | March 18, 2013

The Beauty Of Play

March Break took my daughter, my grandson, two friends and I to Medieval Times – “two hours of jousting, swordsmanship, thrilling hand-to-hand combat, displays of extraordinary horsemanship and falconry as part of an exciting yet touching story set in Medieval Spain.” (http://www.medievaltimes.com/toronto.aspx)

It was a great afternoon and I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed both the performance and the banquet set before us.  The kids had a great time, although Phoenie was so excited that he didn’t eat one bite of food.

The best part of the day was the play – not the actual performance, but watching the three boys get completely lost in their make believe world of jousting in the foyer. They were oblivious to those around them as they challenged each other to a duel with their wooden swords.

Medieval Times 3

It’s great to play.   I can’t say I get into jousting very much but I certainly get into playing.  I don’t know how many times I have encouraged others over the years to “Work hard and then play hard – in that order.” You gotta’ do both.

George Bernard Shaw said, “We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” I couldn’t agree more.  Life is heavy but play is fun. As adults, we need to prioritize play once in a while because it definitely doesn’t happen as naturally as it did when we were young but if you spend any amount of quality time with children, you’ll start to be creative and… well…the child comes out of all of us.

Last night, Chris and I went to help a friend with her three young children. I had the unexpected pleasure of playing with a three-year-old boy in his magical bedroom, filled with books and tents and toys and stuffed animals. After much silly talk, we decided it was time to play, “Capes and Cookies.”  There was one rule – you had to wrap yourself up with a soft blanket. The rest of the game was completely ad-libbed as Zeph became Micky Mouse and I became Nemo.  We hid under the covers, we squished into the tent and for forty minutes, we were the only ones in the world that mattered. It took a bit of ingenuity to get my big body into that small tent but Zeph pulled and I pushed and together, we made it happen. My back’s a little sore today but boy, was it worth it!

Oh…it’s good to play!

Play keeps us vital and alive. It gives us an enthusiasm for life that is irreplaceable. Without it, life just doesn’t taste good.”                               Lucia Capocchione


Responses

  1. Life lessons from children: Never lose that sense of wonder and amazement at the world. Always be willing to make new friends. Trust without suspicion. Be willing to see things that aren’t there. Those things are real too. =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

