Posted by: Diane | February 27, 2013

Attitude Adjustment

I learned a new term on Sunday. Our pastor told us that when a pilot loses control of a plane, the process of getting that plane to the right level is called, “recovery from an unusual attitude.”

I’ve been thinking of that word picture for the past few days….and God has shown me an attitude in my life that needs adjusting.

So, I got down on my knees and prayed, “Holy Spirit, have at it. Adjust my attitude.  Adjust me spirit.”

I don’t want to go my own way. I don’t want to do what I please or speak idle words. (Isaiah 58.13b) I want God to increase in my life and I to decrease. This week, I have been reminded that my ways are not His ways and that I have tunnel vision, in comparison to God’s big picture. He has shown Himself to be faithful and loving over and over again, yet I still naturally plan my path. I am as dependent on His manna of mercy as I am thankful for His forgiveness.

The other statement that our pastor said that really stayed with me was, “I live a privileged life.”

I do.  I do indeed live a privileged life – I have a place to stay and food to eat and clothes to wear –  and I am responsible and accountable for what I do with my 86,400 seconds every day. Isaiah 58 greatly challenges me with questions like, Do I share my food with the hungry and provide the poor wanderer with shelter? Do  I spend myself in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed? (vs. 7a,10a)

It’s all boils down to attitude, obedience to the Word of God and recognition that I am nothing without His faithful, ever-adjusting, loving hand.

As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace.  1 Peter 4.10  ESV

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

