Posted by: Diane | February 26, 2013

Fish Dance

fish dance 1

fish dance 2

fish dance 3fish dance 4

fish dance 6

You would think I had wrestled a 30 pound pickerel to the surface if you had witnessed my Fish Dance. I’m sure the seasoned fishermen in the hut next door thought I was crazy, when I brought up an itsy, bitsy, five inch perch and proceeded to hoot and holler on the ice.  Come to think of it, maybe that’s why all the other ladies disappeared into our hut so they wouldn’t be embaressed by my outlandish behavior.

I’m 56 years old and I’m thankful that I still get excited about the small joys in life. Not everything has to be highly detailed, expensive, perfectly planned or elaborately decked out.  Not everything has to be big. We live in a world that is obsessed with “bigness” but I’m learning to take time to celebrate those things that just happen to be small.

– a hand-written thank you card

– a smile, born of contentment with little

– chatting with the neighbours

– baby toes

– great songs on the radio

– a listening ear

– crawling back into a warm bed with flannel sheets

– little stones

– sharing a warm cup of tea with a friend

– birds at the feeder

– Peanut M&M’s

– green lights all the way

– finding loonies and toonies in my coat pocket

– buttons in a jar

– homemade mac and cheese

– healthy indoor plants

– snow drifts

…and an extremely small fish.

sometimes the smallest...

The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it.  Psalm 24.1 NIV


Responses

  1. Love it Diane. You make me smile (yes, that’s a small thing!)
    Go girl!!

    Love Barb

    • Yes, hopefully next time, I’ll catch something worth eating!!

  2. I think a fish dance with you would be awesome! I don’t like winter though so maybe a summer fish dance!
    Little things have huge impact!

    I hope you like my little verse
    It isn’t fancy nor well rehearsed
    It’s just a note of smallish substance
    To comment on your awesome fish dance
    It really doesn’t rhyme that well
    But it serves its purpose rather swell
    It is just to say hi I’m thinking of you
    And thinking of that dance that you often do
    A fish dance to celebrate the small fry
    Better use butter so he doesn’t cook up dry!

    Enjoy your winter fish fry!


Leave a Reply

Categories

