Posted by: Diane | February 19, 2013

Phoenie’s Revelation

My daughter told me a funny story on the weekend.

Dawne’s son, Phoenix, came running into the kitchen one day and announced, “I know what gift God has given me! I know my gift!”  Apparently, in school, Phoenie’s teacher had been talking about the fact that it’s important to recognize and exercise your God-given gift.  Phoenie took this advice to heart.

God gave me a gift, Mom… I can blow up a Whoopie cushion with my nose.”

He was dead serious.

Dawne was speechless. She had no idea how to respond to Phoenie’s revelation.  She didn’t want to laugh but she was also very aware that he hadn’t fully understood the idea of spiritual gifts or God-given passions, temperaments and talents. She did realize that this particular “gift” of her son’s was not one to benefit others, although Phoenie would probably argue that his friends thought it was pretty cool.

It reminded me of a comic that one of my students gave me a couple of years ago.

spiritual gifts comic

Last week, Phoenie was chosen to present his speech, Camping with Papak, at an upcoming fund-raising gala for his school.  When I called to congratulate him on this very prestigious opportunity, he quickly responded with, “I think speaking is my gift now, Nana.” 

He’s definitely getting closer to the truth.

Spiritual giftsAs each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies – in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.  1 Peter 4. 10,11 ESV

 


Responses

  1. Thank you again Diane! Quite the visuals !! 😄

    • Yah…probably too much information! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

