Posted by: Diane | January 26, 2013

Total Surrender

What a week…

…and it’s ended with my back going into spasm, so I’ve pretty much been lying flat today. I suppose I should have anticipated the return of this ailment because of the stress that I’ve beeng going through for the past five days but it’s been over two years since  the last time it plagued me. When I felt that all-too-familiar too twang in my back last night, I knew I was doomed.  Experience tells me that I should be up and around by tomorrow afternoon if I put all my plans aside and surrender in a horizontal position.

The thing is that it’s so difficult for me to stop moving and lay still.

Years ago, when our family was living in Bratislava, Slovakia, our family became the proud owner of a puppy. We found the little guy in a burned down barn in Croatia and we brought him home to surprise our three children. I will never forget their shocked faces when Medo’s * little puppy face peeked out from my jacket when we walked in the door. Medo was a wonderful dog, despite the fact that he ate the linoleum floor in the kitchen.

Medo loved to lie on his back and have his belly rubbed. He would just lie there in complete bliss.  His tail would be up as you rubbed him but eventually, you would see his tail slowly relax and fall to the floor. It was a picture of complete surrender.  The picture below isn’t Medo but this is exactly when he would look like when he relaxed.

It’s difficult to position ourselves in complete surrender, isn’t it? Yet, often times, the greatest peace comes of surrender – letting go of all the anxiety, the “to-do” list, the worry and the the heaviness of life. Surrendering is a discipline, a conscious choice to pull away and simply enjoy God’s presence.

King David had more than his share of really big troubles, and he sang in Psalm 55:22,

Cast your burden upon the LORD, and He will sustain you;   
He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.

There is only One Who can carry my burdens and it is good to rest in His everlasting love. God delights in taking care of us.

Back spasms MAKE me stop –  I’m still learning how to surrender voluntarily.

One does not surrender a life in an instant. That which is lifelong can only be surrendered in a lifetime. Elisabeth Elliot

 

*His real name was “Medved,” a Slovak name meaning “honey bear” –  he had a honey colored tummy and he looked like a brown bear. Eventually, his name was shorted to “Medo”)


Leave a Reply

Categories

