Posted by: Diane | January 22, 2013

One Difficult Day, One Precious Life

I woke up this morning with speaking on my mind.

I had been invited to speak to a large group of women and I was excited to share about the OVERFLOW! group.  About five minutes before I was introduced, I wandered down the hallway to pray and to turn my phone off.  I noticed that my daughter had called five times so I decided to check in with her.  Her voice was shaky and the connection was poor so I couldn’t hear what she was saying. A paramedic got on the line and told me that Danae had been in a car accident. He assured me that she was OK but that she was going to the hospital to get checked out.  I wasn’t given any more details.

I made the decision to carry on with the speaking engagement. I didn’t want to get in the car right away and drive three hours to the hospital. I needed to wait…to slow down…so I entrusted Danae to the One who loves her more than I do, spoke for forty minutes and then drove east.

It was a long drive and by the time I had made my way through a snow squall, Danae had been released from the hospital.

When Danae’s boyfriend sent me this picture of Danae’s car, I wept. That was the moment that I realized what God had done. The paramedic told me that he couldn’t understand how Danae survived this crash…

Danae's car

…but she did.

I brought Danae home tonight and comforted her, wrapped her in warm blankets, prayed for her, laid in bed with her and held her  until she fell asleep. I know her entire body aches and I suspect that it is going to get worse before it gets better. Thank you friends, for praying with me tonight – I am not alone – I feel your prayers.

Danae is sleeping and the healing begins.

It’s 11:30 pm. It’s been a long day. Chris is away this week and the house is quiet. It’s the second time today that I am overwhelmed with tears – tears of sadness, tears of joy.

Thank you, God – for sparing Danae’s life – this was not the day for Danae to die.

I will fall asleep with Jesus on my mind.

I will both lie down in peace, and sleep; for you alone, O God, make me dwell in safety. Psalm 4.8

Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the Lord. Psalm 31,24

 


Responses

  1. I will be praying Diane, bor both your daughter, you and her boyfriend. I am glad she is ok and safe in your home with you.

  2. Oh my goodness Diane! Wow, this was an unexpected blog posting. I was tuning in to see how your speaking engagement went, and this? Indeed- what a day!!! Praise the Lord that Danae is now in your care. Praying for physical & emotional healing for your precious daughter. And strength for you.

    • Thank you so much, Stephanie. It’s been good to have Danae home with me.

  3. Wow! My heart sank when I saw the picture. I am so glad she wasn’t seriously hurt.

    • Thank you, Bill. It’s been a long two days but Danae is in better spirits tonight. It’s going to take some time for all the deep bruising and the soft tissue damage to heal. It really is a miracle that she had no serious injuries.

  4. Hi Di – just randomly went on Linked In and saw the title of your blog. So scary to read your blog, but so glad to hear that she is okay. It’s been so long since we’ve connected! I will email soon, and hopefully we can plan something. Take care of her and take care of yourself also Diane.

    • Hi Di, it would be wonderful to connect again! I will indeed take care of Danae and hopefully, get some good rest tonight. We will talk soon.
      Diane

  5. Praise God for His protection over “our” precious Danae! Please love on her and hold her tight! xo

  6. It wasn’t until I got home from work that I heard about Danae’s accident. My heart goes out to both of you and my prayers are joined with the many who are praying both of thanksgiving and for her full recovery.
    The picture of the car brought a big lump in my throat, I can only imagine what you must have felt when you saw the photo of the car.
    Many blessings as you spend this precious time with your daughter.

    • Thank you so much for your prayers. It was indeed quite a moment when I saw that picture of Danae’s car for the first time. I’m so thankful for the three days that we’ve had together since the accident.

  7. oh my, Diane. I just read this blog as i have been away from access to any wifi for over a week. Dear Danae. Praying that she is daily strengthened and encouraged. Yes , there are many implications to such an accident, but i know from experience that God brings the details together in time, His time.
    we have been in your situation twice, and as a Mom, i think it was the hardest on me, and i learned the most lessons.
    God is always faithful and never fails us no matter the circumstances.

    Hugs
    Barb

    • Dear Barb, Thank you so much for your wise words and for the beautiful song. Please continue to pray for Danae.


Leave a Reply

Categories

