Posted by: Diane | December 25, 2012

Day 25…A Child’s Christmas In Wales – Dylan Thomas

Day 25

Advent calendar picture 25

Lo, the star, which they had seen in the East, went on before them. Matthew 2.9

The Wise Men followed the star because they hoped it would lead them to where they wanted to go. It did. The star led them to Jesus, the Savior of the world. We have hope in Jesus. Let us always follow Him!

PRAYER: O Jesus, our bright and shining star, lead us to eternal life. Amen.

______________________________________________________________________________

Christ the Savior is born

The birth of Jesus is the sunrise in the Bible. — Henry van Dyke

_____________________________________________________________________________

When my eyes opened this morning, my first thought was that my 24 year old son is in Wales – his first Christmas away from home. He texted me to say, “Merry Christmas” and mentioned that it was weird not being here with the family.

So, as Chris and I lay in bed, he found “A Child’s Christmas In Wales” by Dylan Thomas” on his Blackberry and read me the entire story. It’s a classic  – rich in description and imagery.

As my husband read this poem to me, I felt more at ease…in an odd way,it comforted me….but I will still miss Drew when our family and friends sit down to enjoy Christmas dinner tonight.

I texted Drew after the reading – my intelligent, someday lawyer-to-be son – and this was our conversation.

Chris read me “A Boy’s Christmas in Wales” in honor of you this morning.

What’s that?

A classic story by Dylan Thomas, Drew….

Diane….

So, that was special. 🙂

When your day slows down and your feet are up, take a few minutes and read or listen to this great story.

Read it

Hear it

merry-christmas-in-red-871292012097OwV


Responses

  1. Merry Christmas to you and yours Diane. I know that you will have a wonderful day with your family as you celebrate the birth of Christ. I did not know that Drew is in Wales for Christmas. Is he attending law school there? I am spending Christmas this year with Rob and his family at ‘Creebs’. Very beautiful here at Lake Rosseau with the sun shining and some snow on the ground. xoxo ‘Mrs.B’

    • Thanks, Mrs. B! Yes, Drew is in London for his second year of Law School – couldn’t come back for Christmas because of the cost but he spend Christmas with a friend’s family in Wales. I think he felt a bit strange being without family but we talked with him on Skype! Sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas with Rob and family! I’m sure it was a great time! Love to you, Diane

  2. Lovely!


Leave a Reply

Categories

