Posted by: Diane | December 12, 2012

Day 12…His grace and his grace

Day 12

Advent Calendar picture 12

Walk in love, just as Christ also loved you, and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma. Ephesians 5.2

Among our gifts of love at Christmas are sweet smelling perfumes and colognes. The Wise Men brought frankincense, a costly incense, as a gift to Jesus. This was their way of showing love – it was an act of worship and adoration. Our symbol today is a perfume bottle. May it remind us to be so filled with the Spirit of Jesus that we give off the fragrance of His love.

PRAYER: Lord, let our lives be counted as sweet smelling incense before You. Amen.

________________________________________________________________________________

Yesterday was our wedding anniversary…and I forgot.

I remember many details in my days but when December comes along, my anniversary date is often forgotten. I was busy, busy, busy in the kitchen and in the midst of preparing lunch for a friend, a present appeared in the coleslaw bowl- Chris had bought me a beautiful, silver necklace.

With a big grin on his face, Chris said, “The design reminded me of us.

anniversary necklace

I was so taken back, I didn’t know what to say. For a few seconds, I didn’t understand why he had given me the necklace and then suddenly, it hit me like a brick – it was our anniversary…and I had forgotten again.

Guilt took over joy…

…until I looked at Chris’ face of pure delight as he put the necklace around my neck. He wasn’t angry or disappointed. He wasn’t heaping on the guilt – it was all self-inflicted. I apologized profusely and he kept saying, “It’s OK, Diane.”  

All I could think of was this: if Chris had forgotten our anniversary and I had remembered, would I be so gracious?

I think not.

At that moment, I got a powerful glimpse of grace being given to me.

G-R-A-C-E

Biblical grace starts with God.

Grace, mercy and peace from God the Father and Christ Jesus our Lord. 2 Timothy 2.1b

Grace is the love and mercy given to us by God because He wants us to have it, not because of anything we have done to earn it. It is a spontaneous gift from God to man – generous, free, totally unexpected and undeserved. No matter how many times we mess up, God continually shows grace to us.

..and it is His grace that is our source and supply for showing grace to others.

Thank you, Chris… for being a strong grace giver.

And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. 2 Cor. 9.8


Responses

  1. Oh Diane! You have me crying. I’m glad my baby brother remembered. Happy anniversary!!

  2. BEAUTIFUL! And, happy anniversary!! xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

