Posted by: Diane | December 6, 2012

Day 6…Unexpected And Unplanned

December 6 Advent calendar picture 6 On earth, peace among men with whom He is pleased. Luke 2.14

An angel is our symbol for today. Angels burst forth with triumphant song of glory to God the night of Jesus’ birth, and it was they who proclaimed God’s peace to mankind. God still sends His holy angels to watch over us “lest we dash our foot against a stone.” Now we needn’t worry but keep our minds stayed on Him and thus have perfect peace.

PRAYER: Dear God, grant us the peace of knowing that Your holy angels are watching over us. Amen. _____________________________________________________________________________

My daughter mentioned that I seem to be somewhat accident prone when it comes to hurting my feet.  I never thought of that before..but I think she’s right.

This morning, my deaf friend came over to my place and we decided to go for a walk. We got all bundled up because it’s below 0º here in this part of Canada. Suzanne and I headed down our winding road and we were so engrossed in our conversation (which means that we were signing up a storm!) that I wasn’t looking where I was going. My right foot hit the side of a pothole and down I went. This is an old ankle injury, dating back to my gymnastics days and I have since turned on it numerous times.  I’ve often said that when I die, I’m going to donate this bum ankle to science because I think med students would be fascinated with the mess of ripped tendons and scarring in there. Anyways, suffice it to say that it REALLY hurt.

I hitched a ride back to my house with the nice post office ladies who were conveniently delivering mail at the time of my blunder.

Suzanne found her own way back.

My plans have officially changed for the day. I have no plans. I’m stuck in the living room, with my foot on ice and Suzanne is serving up lunch and making Jolly Jellybean tea.

Not much more I can do today.

I do believe that sometimes, God does indeed MAKE us lie down in green pastures. I was planning on running around this afternoon, doing errands, wrapping Christmas gifts and visiting my sick neighbour…but it wasn’t meant to be. Instead, I’m not just slowing down…I’m stopped. It’s a tough place to be for a goal-oriented gal.

Quietness. What a gift.

Surrender. What a choice.

RestTime Logo


Responses

  1. Umm, wonder if there’s a convenient pothole around as I need some resting time as well. Although I’d like mine without the pain, please.

    Trust you’ll be up and about – in God’s good time! In the meantime, Chris can be your slave!

    • Yes, I’d like to milk this as much as I can…but Chris is travelling this week – I’m on my own! Diane


Leave a Reply

Categories

