Posted by: Diane | November 10, 2012

Walk Away From The Chocolate!

Chris and I started a 21 Day Cleanse – a meal plan that naturally supports the body’s natural processes of detoxification through toxic breakdown, neutralization and elimination – and we’ve survived six days so far. Our success stems from going through the agony together…although to be honest, it really hasn’t been that bad. It’s sensible – no extreme cooking rituals, no liver cleansing concoctions or ultra strange  health foodstuff – rather, it’s a balanced focus on creative and delicious recipes, that prioritize a wide selection of vegetables, legumes, brown rice, fruit, fish, etc., customized to our taste preferences and schedules. It’s also gluten and dairy free, which hasn’t been much of an issue – occasionally, we miss eating cheese but that’s about it. I’ve never done anything like this before and it’s been very interesting to have a qualified nutritionist monitor, explain and encourage Chris and I to take a good look at how and what we eat.

My worst habit?  Snacking after dinner. When the day comes to a close, the chocolate comes out and lately, for some reason, I’ve been going strong on the Cheetos too. I’ve really appreciated this concentrated time to listen to my body more and discipline myself to stay away from the triggers that move me towards that bottom shelf where the junk food is stashed. The next challenge will be to skip those those particular grocery aisles.

I’m a pretty healthy person – I exercise daily, I eat and sleep well, I don’t drink or smoke and I’ve learned how to deal with stress in a healthy way –  but as I get older, I have become even more conscious of the importance of honoring God with my body.

…and it’s all about balance, isn’t it?

As a Christian, that means experiencing the freedom of discipline – not allowing food or anything else to become an idol. I believe food is to be enjoyed but I don’t live to eat – I eat to live. I don’t want to become a mindless eater who grabs food when I’m sad, stressed, bored, multi-tasking, or watching TV at night.  Taking a good look at my eating habits has been really good for me because now,  I’m in the midst of breaking the grip of my night time munchies habit. George Santayana once said that “habit is stronger than reason” but God is so much stronger than habit. Reasoning means I am trusting myself to find a solution. Trusting God means renewal of my mind and attitude – THIS is what will ultimately lead to change… and a whole lot less chocolate consumption.

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and He will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. 1 Corinthians 10.13

 


Responses

  1. Mmmmmm chocolate!!!

    Stéphanie Rourke Jackson FASHION Magazine, Weddingbells Account Manager Sent via my iPhone  416-843-2891 (please excuse typos!)

  2. No temptation has overtaken you – except when the new bakery opens today!

    • so glad that I’m not living near THAT bakery today! Enjoy, Anne…enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

