Posted by: Diane | November 2, 2012

Stubbornness

I’m not a big Dr. Seuss fan but I have to admit, he’s written some good life lesson stories.

I came across one of his tales recently – it’s a lot less familiar than Green Eggs and Ham, The Lorax and The Cat in the Hat but it’s a great little story that packs a powerful punch.

There are two Zax, who happen to be terribly stubborn and refuse to move over so the other may pass. Their stubbornness keeps them stuck in the same place, and as it does, the world goes on around them and without them.

(There’s a 30 second intro before the actual story begins…so be patient.)

http://youtu.be/LaQXOrbqAbM

This story is very short, but lends itself to a long life-lesson.

It’s frustrating to relate to a stubborn person but I think it must be really sad to be one.  Imagine choosing to see only black and white in a multi-colored, multi-textured world – it would be so limiting. I have a couple of stubborn acquaintances and I don’t think it’s coincidence that they are also very insecure people. Their priority is to be understood; not to understand others. They tolerate their relationships; they don’t enjoy them. They give off a subtle “we can talk if you want to but I’m going to win” attitude that really squelches any depth in communication. They intimidate; they don’t reciprocate.  Having strong, biblical convictions, coupled with amazing grace is one thing but stubbornness is just plain foolishness.

“My way or the highway” is a nauseating way to go through life.

Never budge! That’s my rule. Never budge in the least!
Not an inch to the west! Not an inch to the east!
I’ll stay here, not budging! I can and I will
If it makes you and me and the whole world stand still!”  Dr. Seuss

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

