Posted by: Diane | October 14, 2012

OVERFLOW! – October 13. 2012

The OVERFLOW! group has been working on a very ambitious project for the past six months…

…and yesterday, the fifteen of us got together for the finishing touches, packed the special box, ate a delicious brunch and played together.

OVERFLOW!  is a group of multi-aged women, ages 14 – 62, who come together and creatively learn, serve, play, discuss and encourage each other…and we’ve been doing this for over two years.

I passionately believe that older and younger women need each other – life is undeniably richer when we do it together but it’s been my observation that the natural “coming together” of multi-aged women is dying as the generations unfold. OVERFLOW! is a group that brings multi-aged women (this group includes women, ages 14 – 62 years of age) together to learn, love and laugh together. It’s not about one direction mentoring – it’s about two way “instilling.”  It’s so simple, yet the experience is so profound.
There is nothing like OVERFLOW! I mean, I never thought that meeting with older women would be exciting but this group has changed my life. We have a blast together and I learn more about life every time I’m with this crazy group of women, whether we’re tubing and waterskiing at Diane’s place, talking about relationships, helping out at the youth center downtown, interviewing influential women, “Elfing” the neighbours at Christmas, doing High Tea, praying together, going on a road trip or attempting to make sushi.  I’m so thankful that I can be part of this incredible group of women.      Sam 17 –  years old
I love watching and listening to the younger women in OVERFLOW! I’m inspired by their energy and encouraged by their stories. I know I can encourage them and I’m thankful for the opportunities to help them with their decisions. I love the fact that we laugh and play together but we also have marvelous discussions that really help us apply biblical truth to our lives. Women of all ages need to pull out of the busyness of their lives and head towards this kind of healthy, life giving community. In OVERFLOW!, our spirits are lifted and we help each other press on. I’ve wanted to be part of something like this all my life.   Karen –   62 years old. 
 
 
 The OVERFLOW! group is based on Philippians 1.9
My prayer for you is that you will overflow more and more with love for others, and at the same time, keep on growing in spiritual knowledge and insight. 
Everybody in the group looks forward to our time together and we’re not going to stop any time soon!

Leave a comment

Categories