Posted by: Diane | September 27, 2012

An Odd Tattoo, A Wounded Heart

It was a strange tattoo.

My friend and I made plans to spent the day together, exploring all the “off the beaten track” stores in the area but first thing first – I had to renew my car sticker thing-a-ma-jig.  We walked into the local Service Canada building and saw a young man, sitting behind the counter. He didn’t look up from his novel but he said,  “How can I help you?” I’m a big one for eye contact when someone talks to me so I waited patiently for the man to tear himself away from the riveting plot and actually look at me.

While I was waiting, I noticed a very interesting tattoo on the young man’s neck.

LET JESUS BE. 

I was curious and was dying to ask him what the tattoo meant but I got distracted when the man began to make conversation with me. After our transaction, Danielle and I headed to the car and I asked her a question.

Did you see that guy’s tattoo?”

I saw some of it but not all of it. What did it say?”

It said, “LET JESUS BE.” What do you think that means?”

I don’t know.” 

By this time, we were in the car and driving away from the building. Now, it was Danielle’s turn to ask me a question.

Why don’t you go back and ask him about the tattoo?  You know you want to.”

I smiled. “Yah, you know me well. I would love to talk to him about that tattoo.”

“So go! Go talk to him.”

I stopped the car and headed back into the building. The young man was hunched over his novel again.

Excuse me, I hope you don’t think I’m being rude but I was just wondering what your tattoo means.” 

This time, the man stood up, looked me right in the eyes and said, “It means,  I don’t like people shoving Jesus in my face.”

I wasn’t expecting such an angry response so I said something like, “Oh. OK.  Well, thanks for telling me” and exited quickly.

When I got in the car, Danielle asked me how it went.  I told her how he responded and  she said, “Boy, he must have had a really bad experience with someone talking about Jesus.”

Maybe…

…or perhaps some well meaning young person who loves Jesus, tried to share the Good News of Christ with this man and he responded from a wounded heart. Who knows?

But I prayed for him…and I will continue to pray for him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

