Posted by: Diane | September 12, 2012

Tea And Talk Time

This is my kind of afternoon – tea and talk with an older woman.

Oma is the grandmother of Monika and Alex, two tutoring students of mine.  Oma and I have crossed paths many times because Oma cooks and cleans and substantially lifts the load for her son and grandchildren. When I pick up Alex and Monika for tutoring, Oma and I often take a little time to chat.  I find her fascinating and when she invited me for tea, I was thrilled.

Today was the day.

As soon as I walked in the door, I could see that her house was decorated with memories – trinkets and family pictures, homemade blankets carefully laid out on the couches and homemade jam in big jars, still warm from yesterday’s labour of love. Oma has lived alone in this farm house for fifteen years and I could immediately feel that her kitchen has been a place where family and friends have always been welcomed.

Oma had set the kitchen table with her best china and she proudly served her delicious, homemade Heidelbeerkuchen. (blueberry cake) We talked about her family and my days of living in Germany when I was eighteen years old – her kind hospitality reminded me of those wonderful months overseas, living with a German family, while I trained in gymnastics.

Just being in Oma’s home warmed my heart.

I love everything about this woman and taking time to know HER, rather than merely watching her serve her family, was very special.  She has so many stories. We made plans to have tea together again soon.

I have a new friend…and my life has once again, been enriched by the wisdom of an older woman.

Mixing one’s wines may be a mistake, but old and new wisdom mix admirably. Bertolt Brecht


Responses

  1. This picture reminds me of my great aunt and my grandmother. They both always had best china for our tea times. I loved having tea and goodies with them when I was growing up.

  2. Oh Diane, I’m all all teared up reading this. Your description of the Oma is so familiar. My Mom, my “Ema”, and the kids’ “Vanaema” who they called “Ala”. (Kristine couldn’t say it right so it became Ala-Ala, and later just Ala.)
    Her kitchen was like your friend’s. But when I saw the hands, I burst out In tears. Hands that have provided, tended sick children and grandchildren, baked bread, milked cows, helped so many…..
    What a beautiful friendship you have made!


Leave a Reply

Categories

