Posted by: Diane | June 25, 2012

The “Nudge”

When I had my first child twenty nine years ago, I was completely overwhelmed. I could not believe that McMaster University Hospital would entrust me to take this little seven pound, thirteen ounce bundle of baby home and care for her. I squeezed every last minute out of my hospital stay but after seven days, they finally kicked me out –  I remember that moment of terror as if was yesterday. I was a nervous bundle of insecurity and fear.  Less than a week later, my friend, Leigh swooped down, picked up all my broken pieces, tucked me under her protective arm and mothered me through the next two weeks.  She had just given birth to her third child, yet in the midst of all her ever changing family dynamics, she welcomed me in her home and showed me how to take care of a newborn baby. I will never forget her love and care.

Leigh came to visit last Friday – she’s still here. Tea in hand, bodies wrapped in blankets, we’ve sat on on the Muskoka chairs and talked for hours.

 If you’ve been following this blog, you’ll know that I make blankets for people I love – I have always appreciated the work that goes into homemade crafts so I decided that I would learn to crochet and make some cozy blankets for families and friends. Over the past couple of years, my husband has often asked me, “When are you going to make one for yourself?” so, over the winter, I crocheted a blanket to match the colors in our home and I have to say, I REALLY liked the final product…it looked so great in our home…

…but it wasn’t to be.

This afternoon, in the midst of a heavy conversation, I got the “nudge.” 

When the Holy Spirit moves me to give something away, I listen. I have learned not to hold onto material things with a clenched hand and the older I get, the more I experience this “nudge” to bless others by giving away things that are meaningful to me –  I find great joy in doing so.  Immediately, I got off the kitchen stool, grabbed my blanket and gave it to Leigh.

Without hesitation, Leigh took a beautiful bracelet off her wrist and told me she wanted me to have it. She explained to me why this particular bracelet was so special to her. She had already decided last night that she was going to give this bracelet to me. I watched her unbridled joy as she fastened this bracelet on my wrist.

There was a moment when I began to say, “Oh no, you don’t have  – ”  but I stopped because I did not want to rob her of the joy that she was experiencing. We hugged each other tightly and both of us had tears in our eyes.

It was one of those great moments. Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “Since you get more joy out of giving joy to others, you should put a good deal of thought into the happiness that you are able to give.”  

Wise, living words.

To get the full value of joy you must have someone to divide it with.  Mark Twain



Responses

  1. delightful !!!!

  2. You bring incredible JOY to my life! thank you for loving me and letting me love you for 30 years…..next time we WILL jump waves~

  3. i wanted to thank you for this great read!! i am definitely enjoying every little bit of it i have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. thanks for all.http://www.kitsucesso.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

