Posted by: Diane | June 20, 2012

Pressing On

This Christian life is all about pressing on, isn’t it?

Not that I have already obtained this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for what Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:12 – 17 NIV


Yesterday was a stark reminder that we live in a broken world…but the sun rose this morning and another day began.

Real life doesn’t have a plot – there is unexpected calamity everywhere you turn.  But knowing truth commissions us to be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power. Robert Frost once said, “The best way out is always through” – and the armor of God empowers us to stand firm and move forward. The past doesn’t determine the future.  It’s about pressing on.

I’m going to do some tutoring this afternoon and then I’m heading back to my friend’s house until tomorrow. I know that she needs to talk and cry. I want to help her prepare for a heart wrenching trip to her brother’s house in the States. The funeral is on Saturday night.

I am confident that my friend will be everything her brother needs because she can offer perspective, love and hope. She will comfort her family with the comfort that she herself has received from the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort.  (2 Corinthians 1.3,4) She knows that it’s not about giving answers. It’s about coming along side and unconditionally loving and caring.  It will be one day at a time.

Jesus said, “I am the Resurrection and the Life.” Do you believe this? This is a canyon question which makes sense only, during an all night vigil or in the stillness of smoke-filled waiting rooms. A question that makes sense when all of our props, crutches and costumes are taken away. For then, we must face ourselves as we really are – rudderless humans, tailspinning towards disasters. And we are forced to see Him for what He claims to be – our only hope.    Max Lucado


Responses

  1. Yes, I love the Promise of looking forward not backward. How wonderful that we have Hope for the future, knowing where are hope and goal is- in Him.
    Praying for your dear friend and her family in this very sad and difficult time. Your friendship and standing alongside Is a comfort to her Indeed. God bless you as you do what you disk well.

    • Oops. Sorry about the autocorrect. Should have been “what you do so well’.

      • Thanks, Sis…your encouraging words are much appreciated. Love Diane


Leave a Reply

Categories

