Posted by: Diane | June 18, 2012

Sometimes Ya’ Just Do Dumb Stuff…And Pay For it!

It’s true, isn’t it?  We all do dumb stuff that comes back and bites us. Saturday was one of those times.

I got up reasonably early, considering it was a Saturday morning. I wanted to make it to my friend’s house before 9:00 a.m. – she lives a good hour away so it meant a 7:00 a.m. “rise and shine.” My friend, Danielle is a “roller coaster nutcase” – I got a glimpse of this warped side of her personality last summer when we burst through the Wonderland gates and headed straight to the Behemoth  – no simple rides, no warm up – with Danielle, it’s “go big or go home.” As we got to the top of the first hill, Danielle lifted her hands into the air and let out a mega-loud scream of delight.  I was holding on for dear life, convinced that I was going to plummet into the water below and I do believe that my eyes were closed for the first few seconds of the downhill fall.

So, I kinda’ knew what I was getting into as the two of us headed into our roller coaster day this past weekend.

It was blistering hot and although we got there as soon as the park opened, the crowds had swelled quickly. Once again, we headed straight to the newest roller coaster – the Leviathan – the tallest  (93 m) and fastest (148 K) roller coaster in Canada. We waited one and a half hours to get on a three minutes and twenty eight second ride. As we started to climb the chain lift hill, it was frightening – I knew that the angle of the first descent was 80° and my heart was pounding. We flew down that hill so quickly that my eyes were watering and I continued to white-knuckle the handlebar all through the sweeping high speed turns.

As soon as the ride finished, Danielle and I looked at each other, waited for a couple of seconds, smiled and simultaneously said, “Let’s go again!” We had discovered the Fast Lane queue at that point so we decided it was worth the extra money – now we could ride roller coasters all day long…over and over again…without waiting in long lines….and that’s exactly what we did. For eight hours, Danielle and I rode those ridiculous roller coasters. We even waited in a special line for all the deranged people who want to sit front and center to fully appreciate the insane descent on the Leviathan.

We were so exhausted at the end of the day…but wait! – there’s more. We headed to the Lady Antebellum concert at Ontario Place for the evening. I arrived home at midnight and literally collapsed into bed. It was another early morning on Sunday and a long family day of celebrating Father’s Day and our daughter’s birthday..but I just kept going. I knew my body was going to rebel and I was going to pay for the deep fatigue I was feeling. Last night, I went to bed at 7:00 p.m. and slept until 9:00 a.m this morning – fourteen hours of sleep. I think I woke up in the same position  that I fell asleep in!

I have felt exhausted all day today…still feeling the deep aches and pains of becoming a roller coaster mama.  Was it worth it?

I think so. My body says, “no” but my head and heart say a resounding, “YES!”

Helen Keller once said, “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.”

Danielle won’t let me post the picture of us on the Leviathan. I have to agree…G Force isn’t very kind on older skin. (I’m speaking for myself, Danielle!) So, here we are enjoying Lady Antebellum and hangin’ out together.

Danielle and I laughed and screamed and talked all day. With our busy lives, these wonderful days don’t just happen – we have to plan and prioritize…and then we enjoy.

I cherish my friendship with Danielle –  we are good for each other. God has blessed us with a wonderful friendship.

…and if I have to ride the roller coasters, that’s what I’m going to do. We’re already talking about heading to Cedar Point, Iowa next summer – roller coaster capital of the world!  Oh yah!


Responses

  1. You constantly amaze me Diane with your daring spirit and energy. At your age you should be slowing down somewhat, but friendship has no limits and it knows no bounds. You go girl! You are still enjoying the time of your life. xoxo ‘Mrs. B.’

  2. You’ll be the envy of my kids if you go to Cedar Point! When we went there, we lived in Michigan. Unbelievable!, you daredevil, you!, ( its Ohio , not Iowa – both four letters 🙂 wish I could do the roller coasters butnow I’m heeding the warning signs…”don’t ride if you have …. Or …. Or ….. “


Leave a Reply

Categories

