Posted by: Diane | April 19, 2012

Grumbling

It was well before 7:00 am. and Phoenie’s little body squirmed into our bed. Once that happened, the day had officially started. Chris and I might have been able to squeeze in a few more minutes of sleep but with Phoenie’s little legs dancing up and down the sheets, it didn’t look too promising.

It’s the day after the funeral and from my limited and fatigued perspective, it needed to be a quiet day.  First choice way to spend the day? Honestly?  I would have loved to have stayed in my pajamas all day – “putter and ponder” is  what I call it – but it wasn’t meant to be. A few weeks back, Chris had bought tickets to see our actor-niece in her opening night play in Toronto so that’s where we’re heading. But not until I spent the morning in Chapters with my my seven year old grandson, while my daughter did some chores.

To be honest, I felt a little resentful when I found out that I couldn’t do what I wanted to do today. I locked myself into the upstairs bathroom so I could grumble in private.

It took a few minutes and some good self talk before I was able to exit the bathroom gracefully.  As soon as I opened the door, Phoenie gave me a big hug and told me how excited he was that we were going to Chapters to look for books on “potions.”  (Phoenie wants to be a scientist when he grows up so that he can make potions all the time. According to the speech he has prepared for Speech Day, ” the world needs more scientists.”)

 I mean, it doesn’t get much better than that, does it?  The day after a funeral, I was blessed to spend time with my precious little grandson who was willing to wait outside the bathroom door while I had my little temper tantrum… there he was – arms open for a heart felt hug.

Attitude adjustment needed.  I think it was John Lennon who said that “life is what happens between all your plans.”  Oh, so true.

I humbly apologized to my daughter and to my husband who had listened to my bad attitude. Sure, I’m emotionally tired from the last few days but hey, there are Science books to read and ginger oatmeals cookies to eat at Chapters!

Funerals happen. Life goes on.

Do all things without grumbling or arguing….Philippians 2.14 NIV

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.   Ephesians 4.29 NIV


Leave a Reply

Categories

