Posted by: Diane | April 5, 2012

What is God’s Will?

I recently heard a well known and respected pastor say that “95% of God’s will for you is about the kind of person you are.” 

Hold that thought.

During the first twenty years of my Christian life, I heard and read about many different suggestions, formulas and systems for discerning God’s will. Honestly…it was so confusing. I made my way through persuasive arguments defending “the wisdom view” (observe God’s moral will and exercise wisdom in your choices) and passionate statements about “personal will” (God does have a will for our personal decisions) as well. I wrestled with the simplest of questions –

Does it really matter what house I live in?

Is there only one specific partner for life?

Do we need to ask God for His leading when we buy a car?

Can I miss the will of God by taking the wrong job? 

Fifteen years ago, I took a little hiatus away from everyone and everything. I desperately needed silence and stillness in my life and a friend of mine graciously paid for four days, three nights away at a retreat centre. Besides walking my dog, I spent hours reading Henry Blackaby’s book, Experiencing God.  It was a huge time for me – I stopped asking, “What is God’s will for my life?” and starting asking, “What is God’s will?” 

That was a good decision.

I was gently reminded that the focus needs to be on God, not on my life.  I need to watch and see where God is working and join Him.

Loving God requires obedience to His Word and sensitivity to His Spirit. When my desire is to honor Him and I trust that His hand is on my life, I experience greater peace to wait for His leading and greater freedom to exercise common sense and not so common wisdom in my choices.

In other words, I believe what Augustine wrote – Love God and do what you please. There is freedom in obedience.

I want to grow in Christlikeness. That’s the kind of person I want to be.

I want to know Christ and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in His suffering, becoming like Him in His death, and so, somehow, to attain the resurrection from the dead. Philippians 3.10 NIV


Leave a Reply

Categories

