Posted by: Diane | January 30, 2012

Re-union

I have been journalling for years…about 80 journals worth…and sometimes I like to “take a trip down memory lane.”  I learned many years ago that “remembering” is good –  that it’s not healthy to compare myself to others but to compare only where I have been to where I am now. That was wise advise and it has served me well over the years.

I believe that it’s good to remember where I’ve been…but it’s better to remember God’s hand on my life…every step of the way. I celebrate His faithfulness through the times that have been amazing and the times that have been painful – I certainly have experienced both and I choose to remember it all.

Remember the wonders He has done, His miracles and the judgments He pronounced. 1 Chronicles 16.12

A few weeks ago, I was reminiscing as I read through an old journal and I came across a letter from an older woman whom God brought into my life for a season. I taught her children at a summer sports camp many moons ago and we became friends.  She was a woman who blessed my life in so many ways. She and her husband were wise, generous and loving. I used to hang out in her home because it felt so good.

I learned so much from Mrs. S. I loved her and in many ways, she was like a mother to me…and then we lost touch with each other. I went through some very dark times for a few years and I wrestled with shame and embarrassment. I felt like a failure and that I had disappointed so many people, including Mrs. S. During those years, I let go of many relationships – it seemed like the right thing to do at the time.

Perhaps so….but when I saw Mrs. S.’s letter in my journal, something inside me came alive  – many years have come and gone but I wanted to contact her.  God has healed my heart since those painful days and I see life very differently now. I found a phone number and left a message. Turns out, I called her son, who graciously gave Mrs. S. the message.

Mrs. S. called me this past weekend…and it made my day. I’m still smiling. I recognized her voice – it hasn’t changed at all.  Turns out that she grew up in this area where I live now and she was full of interesting stories. We caught up with each others’s lives and it was a wonderful phone call.

Oh, how sweet it was to talk with her again.  Maybe we will get together soon.

I hope so. I really do.



Leave a Reply

Categories

