Posted by: Diane | January 26, 2012

Empowered

For those of you who are wondering…yes…I did put all those free samples back in the bin!

By the time I got to the coffee shop to meet up with a friend yesterday afternoon, I had downed about three cups of tea at various places.  Mai and I had a good long chat and after yet another cup of tea, I announced, ” it is DEFINITELY time for a bathroom break.” Just as I stood up and headed to the ladies’ powder room,  five young, judo-outfitted girls passed by me and claimed their rightful place as “first to the bathroom.”  I felt great disappointment in my spirit and even greater discomfort in my bladder  as I watched the entire judo team push their way into the only woman’s bathroom in the coffee shop…and then lock the door.  My mind flashed back to my childhood days when my friends and I would pile into various cubicles – whether it be a photo booth in the mall, a change room in a store or yes…a bathroom stall in a restaurant – and I realized that it was going to be a while before those giggly girls came out.

I looked around the hall and it was people-free…so I scooted into the men’s bathroom.  I wasn’t in there long but unfortunately, when I opened the door, there was a young man waiting to use the facilities.  Of course, he looked at me rather strangely, checked the signs on the doors and looked me once again with a confused expression. Before he had a chance to say anything, I flashed a big smile and sheepishly said, “a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.”  I squeezed by him and returned to my friend. I hope I didn’t traumatize the poor guy for life.

When I told Mai about the situation, she looked at me in horror and said, ” Oh, Diane – I could NEVER do that. You’ve got guts.”

(Hm…that’s the second time in two days that someone has told me that!)

I shirked my shoulders and repeated the same words. “Well, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.” 

Mai and I said our good-byes..I headed home and Mai headed to the bathroom.  About five minutes later, my phone rang and it was Mai.

I DID IT! THAT JUDO TEAM WAS STILL IN THE BATHROOM AFTER YOU LEFT AND I HAD TO GO REALLY BADLY….SO I DUCKED INTO THE MEN’S BATHROOM! DIANE, I WOULD NEVER HAVE DONE THAT IF YOU HADN’T SUGGESTED IT.  YOU EMPOWERED ME! 

I had to laugh. So, THIS is what empowerment looks like.


Responses

  1. Sounds like your last two days have been hilarious! I wish I had been there fir the dentist prank! I think I’ll forward it to our neice Lisa…. She’ll appreciate tge humour in it too!! I wonder if she’d post it in her dental offices or would it encourage the ones with a funny bone?
    Loved the bathroom story!! See how you empower others ? I’ve done it a couple of times when there have been long lineups for the WC , when several women in the same dilemma were musing on what to do? Should I ? Dare I? Why not!!!!! Go girl!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

