Posted by: Diane | January 24, 2012

Boy Or Girl?

Chris and I were enjoying The Star home delivery service seven days/week until we “fine-toothed” our way through our 2012 finances and decided that the newspaper was a luxury, not a need…so we cancelled the subscription. I must say that I really miss that morning date with the newspaper and a cup of tea because I like to know what’s going on in the world. However, there are other ways to get the information so the newspaper has gone.

Once in a while, our kind neighbours leave us their already leafed through ( and Sudoku-less, much to my husband’s chagrin) newspaper. I was basking in such a moment as I read last Saturday’s paper and found an interesting article that has stayed on my mind for the past couple of days.

Is it a girl or a boy?” It’s the first thing parents-to-be are asked after showing off a baby bump for the first time….

….But a growing number of experts and parents are starting to ask whether it is time to stop talking about the sex before a baby is brought into the world.” 

The conversation about why we need to know a fetus’ sex is really important.”  The Star, Saturday, January 21.2012

I couldn’t agree more.

In all fairness to the article, the reason given for this phenomena was that early last week, “an editorial in the country’s top medical journal urged physicians to not reveal the sex of a fetus to parents until after 30 weeks of pregnancy in an effort to combat female feticide.”

I understand that point but people have been wanting to find out the sex of their baby for a very long time – long before the very newsworthy focus on female feticide, as horrific as it is.

Now, this is where I date myself. I have three adult children and I can tell you that I never knew…nor wanted to know…whether I was having a boy or a girl.  Frankly, it didn’t matter to me. I couldn’t articulate it any better than one of the women interviewed for the newspaper article.

“I don’t have a baby to have a specific gender. I have a baby to have a baby.”  Julie Cole

Part of the excitement of childbirth was the anticipation of finding out what was coming! I had a girl…and then another girl…and what a pleasant surprise when a little boy popped out the third time. The baby room was always painted butter yellow and none of my babies seemed to mind.

For me, it was simple – God is and was and always will be in control. I rested in that truth.  I had the children that God intended me to have and every one of them was a gift from God.  Although I am a proactive thinker in many arenas of life, knowing the sex of my children before they were born was never a felt need.


Responses

  1. I am with you on that Diane. I never knew whether We were expecting a boy or a girl as I didn’t have an U/S to decipher that. Guess what? If the baby cried , I was happy!

    Blessings
    Barb

  2. I agree wholeheartedly – dating myself as well when U/S was only performed when there was a problem. I often wonder if there is a side effect we are inflicting on our children that will be discovered 15 or 20 years from now.

    However, it would have been nice to get away from yellows and greens when knitting for the new one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

