Posted by: Diane | January 18, 2012

His Way, His Time

I have been knocking on doors and handing out resumes in this town and surrounding areas for the past five months, hoping to find a part time job to support my writing. I’ve been willing to pour coffee, pile grapefruit, answer phones or stock toilet paper – for minimum wage, if necessary.

On the one hand, I have been thankful for uninterrupted time to focus on finishing my book but on the other hand, I have also been struggling with self esteem issues. There’s the self-inflicted guilt for not contributing to our income and the discouragement I felt because of the constant employment rejections.

I’m a strong proponent of seeking counsel so my husband and I recently spent the afternoon with some good  friends, whom have often and lovingly “been ears” for me in the past. Over home made, blueberry muffins and apple slices, the four of us walked through the whole scenario and the bottom line was, “Diane, you’ve been through far more difficult times when you’ve trusted God with the “next step” – He is faithful – get your hands off the situation and wait. 

…exactly what I needed to hear.

Waiting is hard.  I think it’s far more difficult to wait than it is to work. Many years ago, I went to a conference where John Ortberg was the main speaker.  He spoke on the topic of patience and he challenged the audience with this statement:

Biblically, waiting is not something we have to do until we get what we want. Waiting is part of the process of becoming what God wants us to be.

There is always purpose in the season of waiting. I have been reminded that my tendency is to want to make things happen – this is a pattern in my life. Since the day I became a Christian, (over 40 years ago!) God has lovingly and faithfully pryed my fingers off the control of my life and taught me about trusting Him. I need to be continually reminded of my foolish belief that I can get through this life by doing, loving, forgiving, moving, working and deciding…all on my own.

I want to confidently move forward when and only when God opens the door and the past few weeks have reminded me once again that wise living involves patient waiting,

So, I stopped knocking on doors…and then the phone rang. A man in the neighbourhood was asking about tutoring services and this week, I started working with a delightful, young high school student. It’s the perfect situation in so many ways. I am now tutoring two high school students and bringing in some money to help with the bills.

The concept of waiting isn’t difficult to understand but it’s tough to do.  Then again, is waiting something that you “do”?  I’ll have to think about that.

To wait open-endedly is an enormously radical attitude toward life.  So is to trust that something will happen to us that is far beyond our imaginings. So, too, is giving up control over our future and letting God define our life, trusting that God moulds us according to God’s love and not according to our fear. The spiritual life is a life in which we wait, actively present to the moment, trusting that new things will happen to us, new things that are far beyond our own imagination, fantasy, or prediction. That, indeed, is a very radical stance toward life in a world preoccupied with control.   Henri J. M. Nouwen
Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act.  Psalm 37.7 NLT

~ Psalm 37:7 ~


Responses

  1. PTL for answered prayers! I have been praying that God would provide the income that you needed and he has faithfully given you this tutoring job. You are so gifted in many areas Diane, so I knew that God would be able to find a job in your area of expertise before too long. Keep looking up Diane! xoxo ‘Mrs. B.’

    • Thanks, Mrs. B! This is a great little part time job that I can do in my own home so it works perfectly! Thank you for faithfully praying about this. Diane

  2. So, coming in once a week to clean house for me is obviously not going to work out, eh? 🙂

    • …that was going to be my next step, Anne!

  3. It’s interesting how God works…In my CBS bible study this week, in reading Genesis 24, it was another example of how to wait. Just like you, one must want His will for us, obey when He speaks through His Word and Good Counsel of others, pray specific prayers for guidance, and watch God act !! Then we must act boldly to join God in working out His will in our lives.

    I also heard almost the same message from Ravi Zacharias this week, and encouragement for joyous living from Canon Andrew White on Huntley Street on Monday and Tuesday and at the LIFE 2012 Conference. Talk about having to trust God…in Bagdad,Iraq with moment by moment danger for one’s life. Yet Andrew has contagious joy !!

    Thank you for your post today. GOD is in control but we always want to get our sticky lttle fingers on it…:)) Guilty as charged !!
    I pray for help in “Waiting upon the Lord” too.

  4. God is writing and incredible story of our lives…we must NOT take the pen out of his hand. Waiting is the hard part….xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

