Posted by: Diane | January 16, 2012

Kindness Boomerang

I was cleaning out my INBOX this afternoon and found this quote that I tucked away on December 23rd, 2011.  I’ve reread it many times – that’s what I like to do – I often get quotes sent to me that really capture my interest and imagination and I like to ponder them for a while.

When you carry out acts of kindness, you get a wonderful feeling inside. It is as though something inside your body responds and says, “Yes, this is how I ought to feel.  Rabbi Harold Kushner

I so agree. When you are looking outside of your own needs, it really doesn’t take much to do something small but meaningful for another person. With a little bit of creativity, you can make someone’s day…and it feels great!

Last week, I ran into the local grocery store to pick up some milk. I wasn’t in a hurry and I lined up behind an older man who had a full cart. He turned to me and smiled.

You only have one item – go ahead of me.” 

I was pleasantly surprised and very appreciative of this man’s kindness. I bought the milk and headed out into the parking lot with a smile on my face…but it didn’t last long.

All of a sudden, I heard a man’s voice bellowing, “Runaway carts!”  This young guy obviously worked for the grocery store and had gathered all the random carts left in the parking lot.  He was either trying to impress his girlfriend or trying to set some record for most carts pushed together at one time because he had managed to create a very long line of carts within carts. To his dismay, the front five or so carts weren’t cooperating -they had escaped from the herd and were quickly gaining speed as they slid across the icy parking lot. They were also heading directly towards a young woman and two children. I dropped my milk and ran after the carts.

I got them. I guess I saved the day. It felt good.

I turned around and a woman handed me the milk that I had dropped in the parking lot.

Three acts of kindness – a man let me go before him in the grocery line, I intervened with the carts so  the grocery guy didn’t get fired and someone brought my milk back to me.

Nice.

…it’s kind of like a kindness boomerang.



Leave a Reply

Categories

