Posted by: Diane | December 31, 2011

Hope – An Anchor For The Soul

Joyful 2012 to you! 

New Year’s Eve isn’t a big night for me (although tonight, we’re going to a friend’s house for a home cooked, gourmet, four course dinner and I am definitely up for that!)  but New Years Eve day has always been a time of reflection.  I enjoy getting my home “Christmas tree needle – free”, I love rereading the Christmas cards that we’ve received and and my favourite December 31st activity is sitting down with a cup of chai tea and meandering through my Daytimer/calendar. What was I doing in early January 2011? Who was I spending time with and what were my priorities? In short, I enjoy taking some time to “remember when”….

December 1, 2010 – I posted my first blog…378 posts later, I continue to enjoy the challenge of consciously looking for God’s ways in my days.

December 31, 2010 – Our family was running around, preparing for a wedding! I remember the beautiful pre-wedding pictures taken of Dawne, Guy and Phoenie, playing on Lake Simcoe ice.

January 1.2011 – Our oldest daughter , Dawne, got married to Guy and little Phoenie got a new dad. It was a beautiful, outdoor wedding. What a “refreshing” way to bounce into the new year!

Blushing Bride

The Men Wait

She Arrives

First Kiss?

January 2nd, 2011 –  I made a note to contact a woman about how to write a book proposal. I had been writing for four months at this point and it was time to figure out how to prepare a book proposal for publishing companies. A year later, I am about to send my entire manuscript to the publisher!  So, THAT’S a big part of what’s been filling my days for the past year! It’s encouraging to reflect on the progress I’ve made on this book-writing journey.

January – December, 2011  – Sue, Sylvia, Marion, Mike, OVERFLOW! women, Suzanne and Harry, Leigh, Joan, Margo, Kathy, Sharon, Linda, Jim and Dot, Brian and Ellen, Danielle, Danae, Sharon, Marion, Mai, Megan, Connie, Laurelle, Brad and Lynn, Chris’ family, Dawne, Guy and Phoenie, Erna and Werner, Dave and Cindy, John, Catherine, Coco, Laura, Debbie, Lindsay, Drew, Bec, Stephan, Ann Marie, old high school buddies, Christine, Jackie, Bob and Elaine, Loraine, Fuller family, visits to Sudbury, Kim, Shawn, Karen and Vicky, Shelley and Mrs.B – friends and family.

Interesting for me to look back on all the times that I spent with people during these intense months of writing. It takes so many concentrated, introverted hours to sit and write…but I love people and I didn’t want to lose touch with those I love. The temptation was there to “hole up” and just write but I was always challenged to keep balance in my life. I thought a lot about balance this year –  I think it’s one of the most difficult challenges of the Christian life. It’s tough to maintain.

June, 2011  – Danae graduated from Fleming College and Drew graduated from Western University. This is a picture of Danae and her boyfriend, Mike…and Drew. Congrats to Danae for finishing her three year Massage Therapy course and to Drew, for graduating with his Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Media, Information and Technoculture.

January, 2011 – present  – the OVERFLOW! group met many times this year. Fourteen older and younger women getting together – encouraging, playing, learning, serving, listening, laughing, experiencing, exploring, eating, elfing, swimming, interviewing, road-tripping, cooking, helping and loving each other. I am so thankful for each woman involved. You have all truly enriched my life.

Five wonderful writing weeks at friends’ cottages, 2011 – I was blessed to be able to “get away” and spend some great writing time, both at Linda’s and Suzanne’s cottage.  You’d think that living year round by the water would be “getting away” enough but where’s there a house to keep clean, laundry to do and meals to make, there’s a pile of interruptions to my thought processes. So, thank you Linda and Suzanne – for space, time and solitude.

July and August, 2011 – hot, sticky days and lots of swimming! Visitors came from here, there and everywhere. BBQs and boat rides were plentiful.

I gave my best shot to learn how to drive a bus but let’s just say that the bus and I just didn’t get along!

We also had some lake problems because of a super- farm’s run off issues and somehow, I got crowned the “go-between” lady between the neighbours and the Ministry of the Environment. It’s an unresolved problem and a great concern to everyone who lives on the water.

September – December, 2011 – Drew headed to Law School in London, England, Chris travelled often with his job, I continued to write and look for a part time job. (with no success, as of yet) I also delighted in something new; speaking engagements and becoming a story teller!  I had the opportunity to speak five times this fall and I loved it. The best part of speaking is the preparation.  Truly, I was most blessed because of the rich times in the Word of God.

The fall was also a season of struggling – I suppose I should have expected it – no one ventures into new lands unscathed. I felt my brokenness many times but I also experienced God’s faithfulness and new mercies every morning.

A new year is about to unfold.

…one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3.13b,14

Thank you Lord for the past 365 days of grace. Where would I be without the hope found only in You?

We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure…     Hebrews 6.19


Responses

  1. I love that the E in HOPE either has a crack in it or a drizzle of chocolate icing that looks like a crack. Just a reminder to me that our hope is for an eternity where there will be no more brokenness.

    • Anne, I never noticed that on the cake…but you are so right! Diane

  2. I’m thankful that I was a part of your 2011.. My life always feels enriched after being with you!

  3. Wow!! What a year. Sounds like a whirlwind and you’ve landed on your feet. Loved the photos. I LOVE the one of Dawne with the big beautiful smile!! Gorgeous!!
    Happy New Year and congratulations on a year of blogging!! I look forward each day to see what you’ve had on your mind. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

