Posted by: Diane | December 17, 2011

One Year Of Blogging

Today marks my 365th blog post – one year’s worth! WordPress sent me a “Congratulations” message and it got me thinking about what I’ve been doing all year and how I feel about it.

One year ago, I didn’t even know what a blog was! When I was working on a book proposal to send publishing companies, one helpful woman suggested that I try and talk with an author who has written a book on a similar topic. Long story short – I got in touch with an American author and I can still remember our “welcome to reality” conversation…

Do you twitter?

No.

Do you have a newsletter?

No.

Are you on Facebook?

No. 

Do you have a website?

No.

Do you blog?

No. 

Well, I’ve got to be honest –  the chance of a totally unknown writer publishing a book without some kind of web presence is pretty unlikely.

O.K…well thanks for your time.  

It was a discouraging phone call in some respects but ultimately, after thinking through all the possibilities, it led me to blogging.  I had no idea what I was doing but I’ve always loved telling stories so that’s where I started.  If you have been following my blog from the beginning, you will remember my adventures with little four year old Isaiah. Those were good times.

About a month after I started blogging, I came across this quote and it hit me square in the face.

We encounter God in the ordinariness of life, not in the search for spiritual highs and extraordinary mystical experiences, but in our simple presence in life.  Brennan Manning

THAT”S WHY I BLOG!

I love to look for God in my days. His presence in my day-to-day life affects my perspective, convictions, struggles, victories, decisions, how I respond to others and my opinions. The scriptures tell us that His Word is God-breathed, (2 Timothy 3.16) living, active and penetrating, (Hebrews 4.12) flawless, (Proverbs 30.5) a lamp to my feet (Psalm 119.105)and applicable (James 1.22) All that to say that He affects my life – His presence means something significant when my feet hit the floor everyday…and I enjoy looking for Him.

To be honest, there has been the odd day when this comic by Dave Walker says it all…

your car

…but most of the time, I can find something to write about.

I have thoroughly enjoyed “looking for God”, playing with words, honing my writing skills, reading the comments on the blog and watching the number of hits increase as the year has unfolded.  I have lots to learn and I intend on doing so but I want to thank you for taking the time to read my blog.

Blogging keeps me humble.


Responses

  1. Thanks so much for the time you put in to your blogging. Each one I read makes me think, and often laugh, and be thankful that you are writing these. You really do have something to say to us all!- and you say it very well!

    • Thanks, Karen…for your kind words. I really appreciate your encouragement and friendship. Love Diane

    • Thanks for letting me be a part of your journey each day.
      I love your transparency, honesty, sense of humour, and your true love for God. The lessons you’ve learned from everyday occurances have taught me to look more carefully at what the Lord is trying to teach me.
      Keep up your interesting stories… I especially love your perspective on children. Love
      Kathy

  2. You’re right after checking FaceBook!

  3. Congratulations to your one year anniversary of blogging! Your daily journey of looking for God became my journey too. I look forward to see what you found. Thank you for sharing your life with us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

