Posted by: Diane | December 7, 2011

Dawne’s Pharmacy

My daughter sent me this picture yesterday. She has been getting progressively sicker for the past few days and now she is flat out, in bed with every flu and bronchitis symptom in the book. She’s been to the doctor and now she has a kitchen counter, topped with medication, helping her get through the day.

Everybody seems to be getting sick lately.

When I was teaching, I could pretty much count on getting sick a couple of times during the school year. So many people squished into one small school – I was bound to catch something.  I managed to escape the barrage of germs last year, while I was writing at home but this year, it’s been a different story!  Everybody on our street has been hit with colds and the flu.  My neighbour claims he never gets sick but he was down and out for about three weeks! Chris is just recovering from a real bout of fever, crazy chills during the night, headache and sore joints! I survived a long week of coughing, sneezing and fatigue.  Nasty stuff.

I don’t ever want to get to the point that I’m opening all the bathroom doors with a paper towel wrapped around my hand but I must admit that I’ve resigned to the reality that I am no longer a crazy teenager who can run out in the freezing weather with no jacket on! With the cold weather upon us, I have a “ready to go” pile of warm scarves hanging in the hall because it’s my neck that needs warmth when I head out the door. If I’ve got a scarf wrapped around my neck, I’m good to go.

This morning, I was taking a break from writing, looking out over the water and up at the skies. I was thinking about heaven, where there will no longer be sickness or disease. Our new,glorified, spiritual bodies will no longer age, corrupt, die or be subject to any kind of disease or illness. The Bible says that all sorrow, pain, crying and death will be fully taken away. Every tear will be wiped away.

All things will be made brand new.  I don’t think our imaginations can even begin to imagine what that means.

But I do know this – that I take great comfort in knowing that heaven will be very different than living here in this broken world.

…and I rejoice in that.

And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying; and there shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.” Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new. Revelations 21.4,5


Responses

  1. Amen Diane!!! Hugs and good wishes to Dawne to get better- Barb too! She has the same thing!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

