Posted by: Diane | December 5, 2011

A Good Day’s Work

This arrived in my mailbox today. I have no idea how my name got on a list, along with about three hundred others, whose names started with “D”  who received this offer.

Buy fake/novelty university diplomas and degrees online. We design our Degree or Diploma Certificates and Transcripts to look 99.99% identical to world famous originals including identical security grade transcript paper, identical water markings, raised-ink crests, embossed seals, correct card stock weight (60-100lb depending upon institution specifications). Most post-secondary institutions available.

There must be a substantial market out there for dishonest people who want to “short cut” the system and try to land a job, based on a lie. I suppose I am naive but I was shocked when I read this. There’s just so much wrong with it – that someone would choose to make a living creating false diplomas: that people would be willing to spend, what I imagine would be big bucks, on acquiring false transcripts and the fact that this even exists.  Why don’t the authorities track down these illegal companies or people who decide that defrauding others is a good way to make money?  Then again, I suppose many companies are guilty of this.

What happened to the work ethic? What happened to plain, old working hard to accomplish a goal? Why is it that people look for the easy way out, rather than making an honest dollar?

It’s laziness, isn’t it? People don’t way to be labelled “lazy” but  the unspoken and often unchallenged tendency of many is to work as little as possible and get paid well.

As vinegar to the teeth and smoke to the eyes, so is a sluggard to those who send him. Proverbs 10:26

I’ve heard people actually brag about cutting corners, beating the system, not putting in a full work week, getting paid for something they didn’t do etc. I don’t get it. Where’s the integrity in that way of thinking?

I’ve also heard  stories of people who claim real success in their “get rich quick” schemes but it’s never been an enticing option for me. According to the Bible, it’s not such a great idea to be following worthless pursuits.

The hard worker has plenty of food, but a person who chases fantasies has no sense. Proverbs 13.11 NLT

I like working  hard. There is great satisfaction in a job well done and a good day’s work.

Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither
poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread.
Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and
say, ‘Who is the LORD?’ Or I may become poor and
steal, and so dishonour the name of my God.”
(Proverbs 30:8-9)


Responses

  1. Dear Diane,

    Years ago this would never be tolerated but today, with the absence of absolutes, the standards have fallen down the slippery slope of degradation.
    That’s where we, the children of God, come in and be “Salt and Light” in this dark world. Thank God that He hasn’t changed, and that his promise that “where sin abounds, Grace does much more abound.”

    Blessings on all you are doing Diane, through your writings, to share the light of the Gospel.

    Hugs
    Barb


Leave a Reply

Categories

