Posted by: Diane | December 3, 2011

Tea Party!

It was a great day. I spoke to a wonderful group of young women (and a few older women as well!) and it was delightful.

How have you gotten through 55 years of your life, through all the difficult times and still love God? was the topic that was given to me so I weaved stories in and used props to talk about my journey with God and some lessons that I’ve learned along the way.

1. Take a good look at yourself. Jesus didn’t die for your relief. He died for your sin.

Psalm 139. 23,24 (NLT)  Search me, O God and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends You, and lead me along the path of everlasting life. 

2. Never say, “never”or “always” when it comes to people. Every relationship you have will disappoint you. 

Romans 3:23  For ALL have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. 

3.  The “victim mentality” is not biblical. There is healing. We’re all broken. God restores.

Jeremiah 2:13 My people have committed two sins: They have forsaken me, the spring of living water and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water.

Psalm 23.3  He restores my soul. 

Psalm 71.20  Though you have made me see troubles, many and bitter, you will restore my life again; from the depths of the earth you will again bring me up.

1 Peter 5.10  And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in C  hrist, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.

4. Take the high road every time.

Acts 24.16  Paul stated,” I also do my best to maintain always a blameless conscience before God and before men.”

5Truth surfaces. Really.

Isaiah 14.27  For the Lord Almighty has purposed, and who can thwart Him? 

6. Do the right thing because that’s the right thing to do. 

7. Live by what you know, not by how you feel. 

Romans 12.12  Do not confirm any longer to the pattern of this world but be transformed by the renewing our your MIND.

1 Peter 1.13 Prepare your MINDS for action; be self controlled, set your hope fully on the grace to be given to you when Jesus Chris is revealed. 

Isaiah 26.3 You will keep in perfect peace him whose MIND is steadfast, because he trusts in You. 

Colossians 3.2  Set your MINDS on things above, not on earthly things.

 8. Hold on to hope.

Hebrews 10.23  Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promised is faithful. 

9. Extend grace.

Hebrews 12.15 See to it that no one misses the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many. 

2 Timothy 2.1  be strong in the grace that we have in Christ Jesus. 

10. Don’t look around – people will disappoint you. Look up – fix your eyes on Him.  

Hebrews 12.2 Fix your eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of your faith. 

Hebrews 3.1  Fix your thoughts on Jesus...

After I finished speaking, I had some great opportunities to talk to women about the dynamics between older and younger women as well as the OVERFLOW! group that I am currently writing about. It was encouraging to see the genuine interest in trying something new with the way that women meet together.

I’m really thankful for these speaking opportunities. Every time I prepare, I grow. Every time I speak, I am reminded and humbled by the truth that God loves to use a platform of weakness.

Thanks, Loraine…for inviting me.  What a great group of women!


Responses

  1. Dear Diane:

    Thanks for coming to our church and prepared a wonderful speech. Your wisdom and experience has definitely open our eyes. God is the only one who can provide us with unconditional love and will give us hope.

    We hope that you can come back to give another speech sometime.

  2. I was particularly moved when you signed the song at the end of your talk. It was powerful and moved me to tears! Yes we do have an amazing God who heals broken hearts and set the captive free! Keep doing what you are doing! You are a conduit of God’s blessings! Your pain made you a stronger woman.

  3. Thank you so much for coming to speak Diane! Your words of wisdom are still ringing in my ears and I won’t forget you lying flat out on your “flower pot” shaped blanket! Thank the Lord for “confessed messes” to show us that there is always hope!

    Karen Wang


Leave a Reply

Categories

