Posted by: Diane | November 8, 2011

Drip, Drip, Drip..

Now, here’s an interesting licence plate.

Click on the image twice to enlarge it.

BTN

BORN TO NAG. Hm…

Got me thinking though.  It reminded me of a great picture painted in the book of Proverbs.

A nagging spouse is like the drip, drip, drip of a leaky faucet. Proverbs 27:15 The Message

A couple of nights ago, I headed to bed, snuggled in close to my sleeping husband and closed my eyes in anticipation for a nice, long sleep.  As I was drifting off, I became irritably aware that the bathroom faucet was dripping. It was just a faint sounding drip -about every five seconds.

I rolled over, put the pillow over my head and as a last ditch effort to stop the madness, I tried using earplugs to block out the noise.  The more I tried not to concentrate on that drip, the more I heard it. The sound just wouldn’t go away.

I REALLY didn’t want to get out of bed, so I devised a creative, never-used-before strategy to solve the problem.  I locked arms with my snoring husband, shimmied my body up the length of the bed and put all of my energy into swatting the bedroom door closed with my left leg.

I completely missed the door and landed on the carpet with a resounding THUD. I woke Chris up.

“WHAT are you doing, Diane?”

I wasn’t in the mood to explain my antics but as I lay sprawled on the ground, I could still hear that dripping faucet.

I think nagging is the grown up version of whining. It’s a nasty, perpetual, nasally – sounding effort to get what you want yet it seldom accomplishes what it sets out to do. People who are put in the position of having to constantly listen to it tend to run for cover.

Surely, there’s a better way to communicate.

There’s definitely a better way to deal with a dripping faucet.


Responses

  1. Diane,… You are so funny. I can just picture it all.

  2. Chuckle…. Can relate to the drip, the foolish effort to close the door and unfortunately, the drip of my nagging while Larry is driving…oops really played a chord there. Must watch it. Any suggestions?


Leave a Reply

Categories

