Posted by: Diane | November 7, 2011

Practise What I “Preach”

Seems like I’ve had many opportunities lately to encourage women to “set their minds” and respond to situations out of what they know – not out of how they feel.  It’s a big issue with women. We often let our feelings be the engine and our “knowing” trails behind as the caboose.  I strongly believe that spiritual readiness is the result of how we think. Paul Tatuges says, “as disciples, we are to be truth-saturated, truth-driven people. This means that the Word of God should fill our minds and govern the way we think so that our decisions honor God. ”

I definitely agree…but do I actually live out this truth? Do I practise what I passionately tell others?

This morning, I woke up feeling discouraged.  It’s mid-afternoon now and I still haven’t been able to process the “whys” of my feelings but the point is this: as I lay in my bed this morning, I found it really difficult to “get going.” I needed to start the day but my feelings were driving me, rather than my mind so I kept curling up in the blankets and procrastinating about the inevitable.

There came a point that I had to turn off the feelings and go with what I know ….that this is the day that the Lord has made and I WILL rejoice and be glad in it…that I needed to prepare my mind for action; be self controlled and set my hope fully on the grace given to me when Jesus Christ was revealed….that I needed to set my mind on things above, not on earthly things.   

This is where the discipline comes in. This is where the work happens.

When I look back on my life, I can say that the deepest transformation has happened in the area of renewing my mind.  I realized that the longer I thought along any given line, the stronger that thought pattern became. Every time I reacted in a certain way, I reinforced that thought pattern. I definitely grew up with some wrong thinking.

I liken it to the tracks that cross country skiers make. If you have ever cross country skied, you will know that it’s easier ( takes less effort) to just fall into the tracks that others before you have made.  But you also know that the best skiing happens when you start new tracks in that beautiful powder snow. It’s the same with your thinking It’s easy to just fall into the thought tracks that you’ve “practised” all your life but there is great freedom when you renew your mind and create new tracks of thinking.

Scripture tells me that the new tracks of thinking take place by an act of my will.

You set your mind. You put to death and you rid yourselves of wrong thinking.  You put on new thinking. You rid yourselves of wrong thinking.  Colossians 3.2 – 8

My emotions react. My mind evaluates. My will chooses. It’s not easy but it’s victorious living in a fallen world.

A young friend of mine recently put this on her phone profile – “I’m not heartless.  I’ve just learned to use my heart less.”  

That’s really good stuff.  It got me out of bed this morning.


Responses

  1. Very insightful! That’s exactly what I’m trying to do. Yes it takes a lot of determination but it’s worth it. Just like how we teach our children that practice, practice until it becomes second-nature.


Leave a Reply

Categories

