Posted by: Diane | October 13, 2011

Being Silly Does The Heart Good

Have you ever gotten something silly in your head that you want to do that doesn’t really make sense but you still want to do it?  It’s not a big thing – it doesn’t change the world – but the idea is nesting in the back of your mind and once in a while, something triggers the desire to do something about it.  Well, I’ve got one of those “itches that need to be scratched” and I won’t be satisfied until I follow through with the plan. Let me explain – it’s quite simple.

About three years ago, Chris and I were driving south on Leslie Avenue, heading to church. You know those candy cane-shaped ground vents that you see all over the place?  Well, as soon as I saw one, I made the decision that at some point, I had to wind some bright Christmas red ribbon around it so it will be festive-looking for the Christmas season.  I didn’t  get around to it three years ago… or two years ago or even one year ago…but every time I see one of those vents, I’m reminded of this compulsion to decorate it.

So, this year, I’ve made a plan. One Sunday morning in the middle of November, Chris and I are going to get up early, head to the vent and wrap it up nicely before church. No big deal, really…but for me, it’s just something I need to do this year, for sure. I figure that people who are driving by will get a chuckle when they see it.  Maybe, they’ll catch a bit of the Christmas spirit.

I marked it on my calendar…Sunday, November 20th.  That’s the big day.

It will be one more thing I can draw a line through on my “to do before I die” list.


Responses

  1. I can’t believe you thought of that !! But you have the jump on me. There’s one on the corner at Bayview just north of the lights that I kept looking at wondering what it was, thinking how much it looked like a candy cane!!! I thought of doing that too but you have just trwigged that idea!! Maybe everyone who reads your blog could do all of the ones we see. Start a campaign!! Secret Candy Canes!! I’ve got some 2 1/2 inch red velvet ribbon. What fun!!!

  2. I’m in too! Will have to look for one.I’m not as observant as you gals,but I’ll bet JD knows where they are!
    I’ll be home on the 20th.
    What fun! I was just pondering this morning of ideas of how to get Christ out there in the community and bring back the meaning of an event that changed the douse of history.
    It has to be different to cause people to look and reflect!
    Hmmm….. some time to think about it!

  3. Diane, I like what you’ve got on your ‘Bucket List!’
    I’ve never seen one of these, but I’m going to be on the lookout!

  4. Hey Diane,
    I noticed on the cluster map of visitors that yes, even Estonia is now represented!! I wonder if it’s my cousin??
    Looks like you’re worldwide !! Go Girl!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

