Posted by: Diane | September 29, 2011

In Awe

I woke up this morning and I knew it was time to go home. I intended to stay one more night at this little cottage in the woods but I miss my husband!

It’s been an inspiring four days of writing – my rewriting is improving.  I might just have it right this time.

During my morning walks, I received my fill of dazzling fall colors. To have spent four days in this wonderland of deeps reds and crisp golds was nothing short of spectacular.

What I didn’t anticipate was the spontaneous outpouring of thanks that sprang from my lips as I walked in the rain this morning.  I don’t think I have ever praised God so intensely – arms up, heart abandoned.

I was able to thank Him for my past. I was able to thank Him for every…

paralyzing fear

painful circumstance

feeling of instability

piercing disappointment

tear that’s been shed

lonely night

moment of doubt

time I was misunderstood

gut wrenching truth about myself

I think it was Kay Arthur who said that “nothing touches my life that hasn’t first been filtered through His fingers of love.” I believe that.  No pain has been wasted, no heartache unseen.  No brokenness untouched.

God has strengthened my spirit and healed my deepest wounds.  He has refreshed my soul and blessed me with peace. Sometimes, praise just overwhelms me….

…like this morning.

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.  He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Psalm 40.2,3a


Responses

  1. It is difficult NOT to be in awe of this beautiful autumn glow! Thanks for reminding me to be thankful in everything and in every circumstance. xo

  2. Amen!! Good to know that all of our pains was not for nothing!

  3. God is so good! Look around us…beautiy of nature, wonderful people and food!!!

  4. Praise God from whom all blessings flow…


Leave a Reply

Categories

