Posted by: Diane | September 25, 2011

Happy Birthday To Me!

I woke up yesterday morning to a long distance phone call from London, England – my son was phoning to wish me a Happy Birthday!  Believe it or not, I had forgotten it was my birthday!  When I heard the phone ring and got my bearings, I was thinking, “Yahoo, today is OVERFLOW again!” and I was really looking forward to seeing the group.  So, hearing Drew’s voice was a real delight and truly a birthday surprise!  Thanks, Drew!  Within an hour, I had Dawne, Guy and Phoenie serenading me with the birthday song from Sudbury and Danae calling to wish me a special day as well.

It sure is nice being remembered, isn’t it?  It tickles this mom’s heart. Initially, the kids weren’t too impressed when they found out that I had scheduled an OVERFLOW get together on my birthday but they were all very gracious when I suggested that we celebrate on another day.  So, that’s all that I thought was going to happen today. Danae had given me a beautiful gift of a luxurious facial, which I enjoyed early this week. Dawne was busy creating a family photo montage for the back room wall and Chris was putting together a special binder with hard copies of all my blog posts, dates, topics etc. so that I had quicker access to the topics ( something that I knew was going to be a tedious task and a technological nightmare for me so I sheepishly suggested that it be a labor of love/birthday present for me.)  All I can say is that my husband is busy these days.

Then came another wonderful and memorable OVERFLOW time!

On top of having two wonderful women, Vicky and Barb, sharing some awesome songs…

On top of a crazy time of learning how to crochet, which was KNOT easy (groan)…

On top of having Leslie, (a special young lady  who has started a company called Goo Beads) come and show us her beautiful homemade beaded jewelry…

On top of watching a spontaneous dance show by the young ladies in the group…we have video but I really don’t think you want to see that…actually, I really don’t think the girls want you to see that either!!…

On top of having a fantastic taco-with-all-the-trimmings dinner and a ice cream sundae bar to die for….

WAIT!  THERE’S MORE!  The OVERFLOW group surprised me with a hilarious and delightful surprise birthday party!

Beautiful gifts from the group, very special birthday cake made with love from Emily, amazing (and delicious) birthday card, “Happy Birthday to You”  ringing in my ears and five hours of laughter later, my mouth hurt from smiling so much.

Thank you God for family and friends.  It’s all about people, isn’t it?  It’s all about relationships and making memories. I am so thankful for Your hand on my life, gifting me with loving adult children, a “one-of-a-kind” grandson, a husband who blesses me each and every day and genuine friends  – all who care about me.

Those quick moments when the spot light is on me?  I bask in the feeling and the knowing that I am loved.


Responses

  1. Happy Birthday Diane – sounds like a special day for a special lady. My daughter celebrates 19 tomorrow.
    Abundant blessings, peace, joy and love always.

  2. We are blessed by your authenticity and genuine love of God and his people. Happy birthday!

  3. Happy birthday Mrs. L… Diane 🙂 Hope you were really surprised with me keeping my mouth shut!!! 🙂 We all love you and thanks for making my life so adventurous by inviting me join OVERFLOW! 🙂

    • I’m so glad that you’re part of OVERFLOW, Megan – I love your energy, openness and way of thinking!!

  4. Because you give of yourself to others
    Because you love without reserve
    Because you know how to reach the best in others
    Because you are willing to take risks by being honest
    Because you are transparent
    Because you reach out to others
    Because you are authentic
    Because you have empathy
    Because you are adventurous
    Because you are uniquely YOU
    That’s why you are loved.
    Happy birthday, Diane.
    Love and hugs.

    Love the pics… And yummy card and cake . Original like you!!!

  5. Happy, Happy birthday to you Diane…have a great day and a healthy, happy year. Love ‘Mrs. B’

  6. Wow! What a day! It was so wonderful to be a part of that day and that amazing group of women. We just loved celebrating you Diane, you are so special to each one of us and you have blessed us individually in your own special way. By taking time to listen and be present for each one. You are amazing and God is using you in a big way to touch us with His love. I’m so glad you had a great day!! Great cake eh??

  7. Hi Diane:
    I’m so grateful for who you are and how God uses you. Belated Happy Birthday and blessings on the year ahead. Thanks too for picking up that mysterious blue sweater. It was mine after all. Julia


Leave a Reply

Categories

