Posted by: Diane | September 20, 2011

Take The Risk

Up at 5:45 a.m. and on the road by 6:30…heading to a dentist appointment.  (Why do I go to a dentist in Toronto, you ask? Well, I admit that I have a healthy fear of the dreaded dental visit so I will travel to faraway lands in order to be drilled and probed by the same trustworthy dentist and hygienist.)

I thought I was giving myself ample time to get to a 8:45 appointment – wrong again. I barely made it on time.  It took 135 minutes to go 98 kilometers. I didn’t get lost – I just hit the dreaded traffic at the absolutely worst time of the day.

I think I’m too old for traffic.  My back gets sore and my mind gets restless.  I can think of a thousand things that I would rather be doing and that slides me into grumbling mode.

Then I remembered – this is why we moved north.

No more traffic – just strategically timed trips south…and only when needed.

It’s a trade-0ff.  More mileage, less traffic. More money saved. Less convenient. More travelling time. Less harried.

More gas. Less trips.

Chris and I love living in Beaverton. We took a big risk, made a big move and undertook a big renovation.  Two years later, can we say that it was a good decision?

ABSOLUTELY.

Just over two years ago, Chris and I were at a crossroad with regards to a couple of big decisions that needed to be made. A friend recommended Ben Carson’s book, Take The Risk, which is about learning to identify, choose and live with acceptable risk.  On the back cover, it says, “In our risk-avoidance culture, we place a high premium on safety.  We insure our vacations. We check crash tests on cars. We extend the warranties on our appliances.  But by insulating ourselves from the unknown – the risks of life – we miss the great adventure of living our lives to their full potential.”  

Life is not meant to be lived with regret and “what ifs.”

A ship in harbor is safe – but that is not what ships are for.  ~John A. Shedd, Salt from My Attic


Responses

  1. I agree! Here’s to small town living!


Leave a Reply

Categories

