Posted by: Diane | August 17, 2011

The Speed of Life

I walked into Walmart this morning and saw a group of women crowded around a big table. They were “ooh-ing” and “ah-ing” like women do when they see a newborn baby for the first time. I figured it must have been a big sale so I wandered over to check things out.  Turned out that it was all new and fresh school supplies. I had to smile when I heard one of the women say, “This is my favorite time of the year.  I used to love coming to buy new school supplies when I was young. There’s just something wonderful about the feel and smell of new pencils and books and binders.”

 I totally agree.  That’s the way I felt when I was young…and looking at all the pencil cases, high lighters and erasers brought back some happy memories.  I was so tempted to buy this really cool, brightly colored, multi- zippered pencil case but I managed to control myself.  If Chris had been with me, I know he would have said, “STEP AWAY FROM THE SCHOOL SUPPLIES.”  

School supplies in the stores means fall is coming. Has summer really flown by so quickly?

Chris, Phoenie and I went on an adventure after dinner tonight, exploring the waterfront. As we waded through the water, I noticed that the air felt different. It was cooler …another gentle reminder that the summer days are coming to an end.  The sunsets are slowly shifting south, spiders are breeding like rabbits and the tomato plants are exploding in all directions.

I’m amazed how quickly the summer days have unfolded.  To be honest, I’m amazed how quickly my fifty four years have gone by.

Psalm 39:4,5 says:
Show me, O Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting is my life. You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before You. Each man’s life is but a breath. 

From God’s perspective, my life is but a breath. Something to think about….

A friend told me a timely joke this afternoon.

A man was talking to God one morning and asked Him, “ How long is a million years to You?” and God answered, “Like a second.”  The man continued with another question.  ” What’s a million dollars like for You?”  and God answered him, “like a penny.”  The man then asked God, “Can you give me a million dollars?”  and God answered, “in a second.”  

Yup. My life is but a breath. Sure puts things in context.


Responses

  1. For me there is a melancoly that comes with the end of summer. It has been delightful weather wise and though I’ve spent the greater part of it recovering from surgery,I’ve been able to savor the sounds of the birds, the leaves, the odd rainstorm. Aug 9th I marked my calendar as the first evening I noticed the crickets singing their summer song. I love summer and everything about it. The easier pace, the suntans, the flipflops, shorts, lemonaid and the smell of fresh cut grass. As I feel a little blue at the thought of my children returning to other towns to school I give thanks and praise for our God of many seasons. He indeed has blessed us richly this summer and I have no doubt He will continue to shower us generously with His abundant grace in the coming seasons. Thanks for sharing your summer stories – I really do enjoy them.

  2. Yes, the end of summer is a sad time – we had our first frost this morning – not unusual for where we live, but it is a reminder that the warm days are likely over. A simile for life – some of us are in the springtime of life, some in summer, some in the autumn years – and then there are some of us looking winter in the face! At least at the end of that winter, a wonderful springtime awaits!


Leave a Reply

Categories

