Posted by: Diane | July 12, 2011

Brainstorming

God gave us a magnificent mind and although it is not true that we only use ten percent of our brain, (” we use virtually every part of the brain, and most of the brain is active almost all the time” says neurologist Barry Gordon at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine), many people have the tendency to think small. 

Last year, Chris taught Phoenie about the waves.  He explained that when you see the white on a wave, it called “breaking.” Phoenie listened intently to his Papak and tucked that piece of new information in the back of his mind. This morning, when he looked out the window at the lake, he told us, “there are a lot of broken waves this morning.”

Kids don’t think small – every experience enlightens and every titbit of information broadens their perspective. However, it seems like the older we get, the more selective we become with information about the world we live in. We choose short cuts and easier ways, we settle for the bottom line, instead of the big picture and we deceive ourselves when we think that we know it all.

I am definitely an “out of the box” – “what if...” kind of thinker and am becoming increasingly more so as I get older.  I have seen God solve problems, ignite passions, answer prayers, restore relationships, lavish grace and provide hope in so many amazingly creative ways and because of this, my world has enlarged, my faith has increased and my mind has expanded. I serve a big God and I expect big things from Him.  I don’t demand it…but I come to Him with an expectant spirit and a curious mind.

I don’t want to be the one who says, “it can’t be done.”  I want to think big.

This afternoon, I was reminded how much I love to brainstorm. My friend and I sat in her living room, crocheting up a storm and talking non stop.  My thinking was “stuck” with regards to a particular direction in my book and what I needed was time to verbalize and wrestle with some possible alternatives.  It’s good to hang around other people who have seen God do big things in their lives and want to think big too – it’s inspiring and energizing – and our interaction “unstuck” my thinking.  I was able to break through a wall and move forward because I was encouraged to ask some tough questions, let go of some old ideas and grab onto some big possibilities.

Thank you, friend and thank You, God.


Leave a Reply

Categories

